We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic value. Amazing food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of No8 Bistro

No8 Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
No8 Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 858 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Our small-but-beautiful bistro is found on the busy and lively Gillygate in York. A street full of independent shops and businesses, it leads right into the heart of York through one of its ancient City gates. A traditional and cosy bistro front room that evokes the brasseries of Paris connects to a more spacious and lighter garden room at the rear. This in turn leads to our charming and secluded garden area adjoining the City Walls and basking in the glory of the fabulous York Minster. Whether you come for breakfast, for lunch, or an evening meal, the bistro provides a delightful setting for you to enjoy your meal. Ideal for romantic couples, families or large groups, Café No.8’s bistro offers simple, modern, quality food at excellent value. Make a reservation and see why we consistently appear in ‘top places to eat’ lists both locally and nationally.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic value. Amazing food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed in York for 2 nights and ended up eating here both nights. Food was superb. Staff lovely. Prices excellent value. The lamb was amazing. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for delicious food at a great price.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracyslug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    835
    243
    60
    18
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bolton
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“great evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Booked a table for two on the strength of reading about Cafe no 8 on tripadvisor. We have passed it by on many previous occaisions, when we have visited York. We are so glad we read about it and went for a meal-it was tremendous!
I had the three course menu and my wife had the 2 course (main and pudding). We chose from the specials board and every plateful was a delight, very well presented and very tasty indeed. It ranks as one of the best meals we have had in York. With a bottle of house read-again very nice- the bill came to £52, which was very reasonable indeed considering the quality of the food and drink. It will now be number one on our list next time we visit York in December.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank johnnydiamondBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

we were checking out tripadvisor for a place to eat and stumbled across this place. small yet cosy, the food was impressive. each course was cleverly crafted for flavour. service was good. well worth a return visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gilly w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have eaten here a few years ago and would have recommended it to anyone. However after stopping off this time I feel the quality, service and value has got worse and I will not be telling anyone to go there.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank StuartR254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Wow! We visited York for our anniversary and booked a table at No.8 after finding it on trip advisor. It certainly made our anniversary special. It was probably the best meal out we have ever had. The food was outstanding. And good value to boot. Our chicken liver parfait and black pudding starters were stunning and beautifully presented. Our lamb and steak main courses were cooked to perfection. The house red wine was lovely. The brownie pudding could have brought on a Meg Ryan moment! The ambience and service were impeccable. Thank you No.8 for such a fantastic evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yippee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed No8 Bistro also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to No8 Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing