We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lucky 13???” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meltons Too - CLOSED

Meltons Too
Price range: $0 - $59
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: On Walmgate, within moments of the city���s favourite tourist attractions, shops and sights, is Meltons Too. The sister restaurant of the critically acclaimed Meltons, Too is a larger, more laid back brasserie style affair. Set in an historic 17th Century building, the restaurant is full of character outside and in, where exposed brick walls and wooden floors are set with coloured chairs and wooden bistro tables. With a fresh, European flavour the menu uses regional and seasonal produce; offering brunches and lunches as well as dinner and a yummy selection of tapas for sharing. Meltons Too has been named the "best eating place of the year 2009" in the York tourism awards.
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lucky 13???”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was my third time of visiting this restaurant for a 'girlie' catch-up lunch. On this occasion we were seated upstairs and, initially, were the only occupied table. Plastic chairs are exceptionally uncomfortable! We opted for the 'Lucky 13' set lunch menu; £13 for 3 courses. Not a lot of choice and portions are small. My pork terrine starter was nicely presented but totally lacking flavour. The chocolate brownie was to die for. The staff were exceptionally obliging; realised that we were there for a chat so didn't rush us. Nice relaxed atmosphere but oh, you must do something about the awful sewerage smell from the corridor to the toilets. Will visit again if only because staff were so pleasant! Thanks for being so patient with us.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank asenby13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    123
    68
    39
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Local produce excellently presented. This was a return visit after it was recommended to us. You need to book in advance , to make sure you get your preferred time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank alanbucket2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Shame, it could be good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

I did start typing this at the Restaraunt, just after the first course was taken away and when the young lady ( Posibly new ) just picked up the plates. Even though my wife had left the side !!!

We then ordered the desert at the same time. We had to ask if we could have more than 3 crackers to go with the missing pickle.

After we got up to ask for the bill ( I was going to take a pic of the 3 members of staff hovering around the bar ) but that might have gone to far ?

But like trip advisor, I believe it is about is saying well done, or like this, it is where you need to improve.

No a cheap place but good food

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DonMander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Small Portions”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

What a shame, that as part of a birthday celebration my meal was so disappointing....In actual fact, the vegetarian Moroccan Tagine was very tasty but the portion size was tiny! I am 5'3" and 8.5 stone, I don't eat much but this was ridiculous! I could have eaten twice the amount. I feel like I have been swindled out of £11.50. If I hadn't been part of a larger celebration there would have been a complaint I'm afraid.
And then... sin of all sins; they cleared away some plates while others in our group were still eating. Call me old fashioned but this I find downright rude!
We won't be returning to Melton's Too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank YorkFudgebrownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Went with hubbie to this restaurant this week to celebrate his birthday (they have a birthday club you sign up to when they send you a birthday postcard entitling you to a free three course meal - great idea!). Their £13 set menu is excellent value for a three course meal and is highly recommended. Food is delicious and very nicely presented. Wine is a little pricey, but it is good quality and served in 50cl carafes - ideal to share between two people. Would have given them the full five stars apart from the slight mix up in the bill which was sorted out no problem at the till.
Excellent value for money and good attentive service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank historybuff666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meltons Too also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing