We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 53

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 53
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in York
Doncaster
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2009

A last minute booking for after a day out at the races so basically all we were looking for was somehwere to crash out. Pleansantly surprised, super clean room, MASSIVE bed (jack happy to have about 5 feet between us ha ha) and nice decor. The only thing the room could have done with was a bedside tables as those little cubby holes aren't great for your cuppa. Highly recommend breakfast in the morning, super hot buffet all very fresh and tasty. The only thing that could be a pain is the parking. We were lucky and got a space in the designated hotel spots but if these weren't available it would be a bit of a pain. Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WestwoodMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    664
    337
    133
    72
See reviews for
279
856
50
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2009

Good Points : Great location, 5 minute walk to all the sights. Nice Bathroom, though no bath, just a large shower. Staff friendly and efficient. Breakfast was good, buffet style but always stocked up, hot and fresh.

Bad Points : Quite noisy, room was right next to an air conditioning unit, so the constant drone was quite annoying. Also quite a bit of banging and voices from fellow guests throughout the night. Car parking, was good, but a bit cheeky charging an extra £10 for it. Bed, despite being large, was two singles fastened together, so there was a noticeable 'gap' down the middle, relegating us both to our own side! (also, they were VERY squeaky and noisy wink wink!)

I would stay here again, as the good points, price and location outweigh the few niggles.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swordsj71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2009

The hotel was situated 5 minutes walk into all the attractions & shops, and was very quiet at night and the staff were very professional.Parking available across the road for a single daily fee, cheaper than NCP.Rooms were very well decorated and pleasant, and all you need too.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gholf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2009

we stayed one night, the hotel and room where both styish and clean, altho the reception staff where very rude and un helpful.
the room was nice but the cold tap in the shower did not work and we where kept awake by the hotels air con unit on the roof outside it sounded like there was a lorry with its engine running all night sat outside out door.
a nice stop over hotel might go back if had a diffirent room.we did not have b&b just the room but the menu was over priced with little choice. however there is a nice weatherspoons across the road next to the travel lodge.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laura_jimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2009

after having had money for the entire stay upfront (a first for me) we checked in. There was no parking, and there were no accessions for my wife being disabled. There was excessive noise from both the windows and from the corridor - we were woken at 3pm by the revellers coming in.
English breakfast was cold, and the muesli looked off. There were no coffee refills.
Upon returning to the room at 3.00pm it was still unmade.
I stay in hotels 70 nights per year, and this is in the bottom 10.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harrythetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, Surrey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2009

We booked in to this hotel at the last minute as a stopover. Reception were very helpful on the phone and in person, allocated a parking space for us and made check in a very smooth process.

The room was clean, modern and spacious with a comfy bed. Breakfast was very impressive, great selection and lovely hot full english that was well stocked.

Overall I thought this hotel was much better than others in it's price range - (£79 per night including breakfast and parking) and we would definitely recommend it and stay again when we next go to York.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahCoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2009

I arrived too late (6pm) to get one of the hotel's allocated parking spaces, receptionist seemed a little unhelpful and fairly unknowledgable about York public parking. My bedroom was vey nice, decor and furnishings were stylish. Bathroom was disappointing, no better than a budget hotel, also bathroom could have been cleaner, the shower gel dispenser didn't work for example. Breakfast next morning was excellent and the staff there seemed organised and efiicient, keeping the hot buffet table very well stocked. Because of the very limited parking I'd be unlikely to stay at this hotel again even though I visit York fairly often.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.6 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#15 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Monkbar Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 53? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 53

Property: Hotel 53
Address: 53 Piccadilly, York YO1 9PL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 53 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 53 is in a central location within the city walls and is a short walk from York's major attractions. The hotel's clean, modern exterior is complemented by elegant interior design, creating an atmosphere of stylish simplicity. Whether you're taking a short break, staying with us for a little longer or on business you'll feel immediately at ease at Hotel 53 York. At Hotel 53, we aim for individuality and flair, with the most modern facilities to ensure that our guests receive a warm and professional service throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Orbitz, HRS, Agoda, Priceline, LateRooms, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel 53 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn York
53 Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing