We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasent”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel 53

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel 53
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in York
manchester
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pleasent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Overall the hotel was very good. The room was spacious and clean. The only downside was the restaurant was only Monday to Friday . Not a problem for us but could be for some travellers. Ample coffee and tea making provision. Staff very friendly and helpful

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hasbeancounteruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel53york, Front Office Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Hotel 53. I am pleased to read that you found your room spacious and clean, and that staff were friendly and helpful! I will be sure to pass your comments on to all departments. We do not open the restaurant on Saturday or Sunday evenings, however we do offer sandwiches on room service. There are many great restaurants close to the hotel and we have devised a list of personal recommendations which are available from reception. Thank you once again for your review, we hope to welcome you to Hotel 53 in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    670
    342
    135
    72
See reviews for
284
870
51
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed in a standard double room for one night, and were disappointed. On the website, the hotel looks contemporary and light. In reality, not so impressive. We were put in a room at the front of the hotel, on noisy Piccadilly, which was small and minimal. Despite having two layers (glass in front of the window), noise still came through, especially as students made their way back to their nearby residences throughout the night and at 5.30am when the road sweeper came down! The room was also very warm, and we would have liked to have had the window open, but again the noise made this difficult.

When we arrived, we were a little disappointed by the standards in the room. Whilst not unclean, the empty chewing gum wrapper on the floor made us think that the room had not quite been properly 'bottomed', and there was a lot of dust on the bent venetian blind (which incidentally let a lot of light in early in the morning). A tiny television and one chair was pretty much all the room had to offer.

Before bed, we decided to have a shower, which took forever to get merely luke warm. After this, we attempted to lock the door before going to bed, finding that the lock was broken and was covered by some masking tape - not very secure. The bed was ok - two singles pushed together, with a very obvious dip which meant that we were effectively sleeping in two singles, as you couldn't lie in the middle.

Breakfast was disappointing also - cold pastries and the hot food under a heat lamp, rather than being available for order.

On check out, we informed the staff of our disappointing stay, and received little response. Whilst friendly, they gave no apology, suggesting that we should have phoned down about the shower as they may have been able to sort it - all well and good, but by the time we had it, we just wanted to get to bed.

Don't normally write reviews but felt this needed to be written. Wouldn't stay again - opt for a Premier Inn if on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank reviewer87654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel53york, Front Office Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your review, feedback is useful to the hotel be it good or bad. I am sorry that you feel disappointed by your recent stay with us.

The photos on all of our websites were taken in May, having had the whole hotel re-decorated this January. These photos do show exactly what we offer in terms of size of room, room amenities and the stylish simplicity design. Your room was upgraded to one of our King bedded rooms which are zip-and-link beds, two single mattresses zipped together and king size bedding used which many of our guests love, if this is not to your liking we could have moved you to a standard double room had you mentioned this. We have recently had secondary glazing fitted to the rooms on the front of the hotel, which has made a huge difference and has been praised by many guests. That said Hotel 53 is a city centre hotel and a low level of city centre and street noise has to be expected. If you do not wish to have your window open during the night, we do provide free standing fans as stated in the hotel information card in every bedroom, a call to reception would have resolved this for you. The shower temperature can be manually adjusted from outside the bedroom and would have taken only a few short minutes to fix had we been aware of your problem at the time. I do believe that had many of your gripes been reported to reception during your stay, we would have been able to solve these and you would have left having had a more enjoyable stay. As I mentioned on departure, there is little that we can do to fix a lukewarm shower, a warm room or a dislike to a bed at check-out.

With regards to the internal door lock, these have all been disabled due to health and safety laws changing, however once you close your bedroom door, nobody can access your room without your key card – you are very safe. I am saddened to read that you disliked our buffet breakfast of which we do receive many compliments. Your booking was made via expedia.com and I have checked the wording on the website which advertises your room rate as including ‘buffet breakfast’ which by the nature of a buffet is not cooked to order. I am concerned with regards to your comments on the cleanliness of your bedroom, I have used this review to remind the housekeeping team of the high standards we expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Good value for the night I stayed. At £57 for 1 night (sunday) it was a bargain really but I know the prices can get much much higher than that & I would not pay the £189 rate I have seen online. It's basic but has everything you need for a night or two. The décor is modern and the environment is clean & pleasant. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank transformental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel53york, Front Office Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Hotel 53. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and found our cheapest rate of £57 room only for a Sunday night. As York is such a popular destination, prices are higher than those of our neighbouring cities, however, I am confident that were you to compare our rate of £189 on a Saturday to the rate of our competitors at that time you would find our price to be most favourable. Hotel 53 is designed with modern simplicity and I am happy that you found your room to be clean and pleasant. I am also really pleased to read that you found staff to be friendly and helpful, something that our team are regularly praised for. Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you to Hotel 53 in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed here overnight, didn't see any reviews about parking as it was booked in a hurry so were a bit shocked the parking was £10 and we had to be out by 11am the next day. We would have asked to extend had we known we could. Had the neighbours from hell next door who had two domestics until they were removed from the hotel. To be fair to the staff they were lovely about it and came up instantly to stop the shouting and screaming but they let the woman back in again an hour after which then woke us up again when round 2 began. To their credit the staff did kick them out which was good for us. Expensive for 3 stars but that's what you get at the weekend. Clean and modern, lovely breakfast and lovely staff. Would stay here again if we got a bargain but never again on a Saturday if we can help it!

Room Tip: We had a quiet room without asking for one until some idiots started a riot. If you do experience an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JockBCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel53york, Front Office Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read that you were disturbed during the night of your stay, I am however glad that our night manager sorted the problem quickly. We do rely on our guests being courteous to other guests during their stay, however on the rare occasion that they are not our night team will act as soon as they are aware of a problem. York is a very popular destination and this does unfortunately raise the price of rooms, as you say in your review, Saturday nights are the most expensive so if you are looking for a deal, try a Sunday or Monday night as these tend to be our cheapest nights! Next time, why not call and book direct quoting Trip Advisor for your 10% discount!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Le Willows, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

So easy to find and carpark across the road for only £10 until 1100hrs the next day, the staff extended this until 1300 for no extra charge. Nice modern hotel with extremely comfortable beds&a good buffet breakfast. The city centre is a short stroll away, can't fault this place at all.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank superherorick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel53york, Front Office Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for your great review. We do indeed have parking across the road for £10 per night until 11am on the morning of check-out. Sometimes we can extend this parking, if we can't then there is ample pay & display parking in the same car park! I am very happy to read you found our beds comfy and enjoyed the buffet breakfast, I will be sure to pass your comments onto our chef. I agree, York City Centre is very close to Hotel 53, less than a 5 minute walk and you are right in the middle of the hustle and bustle of York! Next time you are in York, why not call us direct for your 10% Trip Advisor Discount?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

The rooms are overpriced for what they are, the t.v. is tiny, and there is nowhere to sit apart from the bed and the chair at the desk. We were at the back overlooking a concrete flat roof housing the generators, which are extremely noisy. This is not an attractive part of town but it is very convenient to all the major attractions, we didn't use the car all the time we were there. There is little car parking at the hotel but we found one nearby at £11.50 per day.
The staff were very friendly and helpful,
There is a Wetherspoons across the road for a Breakfast half the price of the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel53york, Front Office Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for your review. From your review I can deduct that you had been upgraded to one of our King bedded rooms located at the rear of the hotel of which many of our guests love and I am sorry that this did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We do have standard double rooms which also have a sofa for extra seating, should you wish to stay at Hotel 53 again, you can request one of these rooms. We do have limited parking at a price of £10 per night until 11am on the morning of check-out. These are allocated on a first come, first served basis by arrival at the hotel, but as you say, there is ample alternative parking near by that we can advise of. Whilst the Wetherspoons across the road from us does offer a cheaper breakfast, our breakfast is an unlimited buffet with high quality produce. I am very pleased to read you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, this is a subject of regular praise and is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my boyfriend for an overnight stay in York. The staff on reception were very polite, friendly and helpful. We parked in the carpark across the road for £10 and they allowed us to extend our stay in the carpark to 1pm which meant we could do a bit more the next day before we left. The room was simple but clean and fine for what we needed- sink in the bathroom was very low which was awkward for us to use- I think this is because it was a disabled bathroom? Bed very comfy, nice big towels and a nice breakfast.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bex3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel53york, Front Office Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of your stay at Hotel 53. I am so pleased to read that you found our staff to be polite, friendly and helpful! Each member of the team is a credit to the hotel. We do charge £10 per night for our parking and this lasts from arrival until 11am on the day of departure. In some cases we are able to extend the parking time, however this all depends on the number of arrivals on that particular day. I am glad that you liked your bedroom, we have an accessible double bedroom on each floor. I personally prefer these rooms as they come with extra space in the room, they also come with an adapted wet-room to aid guests who may be in a wheelchair. Thank you once again for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.6 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#19 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Monkbar Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 53? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 53

Property: Hotel 53
Address: 53 Piccadilly, York YO1 9PL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 53 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 53 is in a central location within the city walls and is a short walk from York's major attractions. The hotel's clean, modern exterior is complemented by elegant interior design, creating an atmosphere of stylish simplicity. Whether you're taking a short break, staying with us for a little longer or on business you'll feel immediately at ease at Hotel 53 York. At Hotel 53, we aim for individuality and flair, with the most modern facilities to ensure that our guests receive a warm and professional service throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel 53 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn York
53 Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing