We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish modern hotel”
Review of Hotel 53

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 53
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Stayed at hotel 53 for a 2 night stay feb 14 with friends and we all loved it.
Staff are very friendly. It's modern and very clean. Breakfast is buffet style and was yummy. Loads of choice. Fruit cereals and full cooked.
It's only about a 3/4 min walk to the Golden Fleece pub. Parking is right across the road.
Would DEFINATELY stay again

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank ant1tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,905)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,094 - 1,100 of 1,905 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed for one night on business at short notice. This was the only hotel in York which I found offering Free WiFi; the other hotels charge £ 10 for over an hour (details usually hidden in the small print). In 2014 it is unacceptable for hotels to charge for WiFi. So choosing Hotel 53 was a no brainer since I could also have breakfast at the hotel. Will stay here when I next visit York.

++ Points:
Conveniently situated for visiting York
Excellent staff in this hotel from the receptionists who organised my booking and taxis to the waiters at breakfast time and the night porter who sorted out an early morning call for me.
Good sized room and bathroom with walk-in shower...both clean and tidy (Room 407)
Very quiet
Good WiFi signal
Good value for money. Small discount given if everything is paid for in advance which is a nice touch.
Breakfast was English or Continental. Good and tasty selection of food. Bilberries with Yoghurt which I last ate in Finland were very welcome

-- Points
Bed was two twinned beds linked together. Mattress on the side nearest to the window markedly sagged in the middle so I slept on the other bed as I could not sleep.
Electric kettle had a sticker on it saying it had passed a recent electrical safety test yet the screws in the plug were so loose, it was unsafe to put the plug into a socket.
Telephone instructions in the booklet supplied in the room made no sense for early morning calls. This may have been because they were written for a different model of telephone to that in the room.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
Thank Shangha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

The hotel ticks all the boxes - impecably clean, very nice rooms, good food. But one aspect stood head & shoulders above everything else - The staff.

They were excellent, and I mean ALL OF THEM were excellent. This is extremely rare - normally there's at least one who let's the side down, but not at Hotel 53. Having managed large staff teams I appreciate the care & attention that has gone into selection, induction, on-going training, motivation & camaraderie. Their unilateral knowledge, appearance and attitude was top drawer, as was the way they manage to be extremely helpful without being overbearing.

The fact that this stood out for me demonstrates it's rarity - 10/10, thank you!

HIGHLY recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJBatup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

A small and modern hotel within walking distance of the city centre.
We stayed for one evening (Saturday) and found the staff to be very welcoming. Our room was a good size. The amenities in the room were adequate for our short stay. It was comfortable and very clean.
The bar area was open and friendly for our group on the evening, after eating out. Again the bar staff very efficient and friendly.
At breakfast we were served quickly and efficiently and were allowed to sit around without being rushed. A good choice of continental style breakfast or full english.
Thoroughly enjoyed the stay and would definitley recommend this hotel. Very convenient for the city centre.
There are some car parking facilities opposite hotel which are limited. However, there is also another carpark within walking distance and reasonable costs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking main road. We had a room overlooking the cemetery, it was quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJS57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for our 3 year anniversary. Lovely hotel, very modern and situated 5 mins away from the centre of York making it ideal. Bed was very comfortable, shower had plenty room. Will most definitely stay here again :)

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank DeaNHtiD99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Stayed in Hotel 53 for a weekend away in York with my boyfriend. The hotel is in a great location only 3-5 minutes walk away from the town centre of York, so you don't have to worry about getting taxi's or buses etc.
York itself is fantastic, lots of lovely bars, shops, restaurants and famous sites to visit. I will definitely be returning to explore more.
The hotel is very modern in style and clean throughout. The rooms were spacious with a comfy bed. The en-suite bathroom was also good in size, clean and had a great walk in shower.
The rooms also provide a TV, hairdryer and coffee making facilities with plenty of choice of tea, coffee and biscuits.
The hotel staff were very welcoming and friendly.
We did not eat or have a drink in the hotel so could not comment on these.
The only criticism I have is that the hotels car park is across the road in a small what looks like a run down warehouse that looks like it might fall down any minute. There is also quite limited spaces, you have to get a pass from the reception and pay £10 to park there. However, there are lots of other car parks nearby.
I had a lovely weekend and would definitely return to Hotel 53.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

This is a Fantastic, clean, modern hotel. Accessible parking opposite, excellent breakfast, and staff extremely professional & polite. Great seating area next to the Bar. Rooms very spacious with tea/coffee making facilities. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank SCG2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,551 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
3,030 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel York Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 53? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 53

Address: 53 Piccadilly, York YO1 9PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: $81 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 53 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 53 is in a central location within the city walls and is a short walk from York's major attractions. The hotel's clean, modern exterior is complemented by elegant interior design, creating an atmosphere of stylish simplicity. Whether you're taking a short break, staying with us for a little longer or on business you'll feel immediately at ease at Hotel 53 York. At Hotel 53, we aim for individuality and flair, with the most modern facilities to ensure that our guests receive a warm and professional service throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 53 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn York
53 Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing