We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Friendly Hotel In A Good Location”
Review of Hotel 53

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 53
Ranked #32 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for just one night but really liked it. The rooms were of a good size and were also very clean. Theres a nice bar area in the lobby to sit and have a drink and the staff were alll really friendly and helpful. We didn't eat here but looked at the menu which looked quite nice. Its in a great location if you want to be in the centre of York. The shops are only a 5 minute walk and very easy to find.

The only down side to the hotel was that there was a lot of traffic noise at night, so the higher your room is the better!

Apart from that we really enjoyed our stay here and will go back if we ever visit York again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hollie-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,886)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,156 - 1,162 of 1,886 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

The room was good and the beds were comfy, we paid for parking over the road from the hotel - Book in advance as there is only a limited amount of space. 10 Minute walk into York centre but this was fine in nice weather.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeAlexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at hotel 53 three times in the last year. I don't think I would stay anywhere else in York for this price. Staff are always very friendly. Always check if you are happy, make suggestions if where to go in York. Nothing's too much trouble from bringing an ice bucket, ironing board and fan to the room 24hours a day 7 days a week. The bed is the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. A king size bed makes all the difference when you have a 6ft 3 boyfriend that sleeps like a starfish. We have only eaten breakfast here but it was very good. There is a secure car park which is just across the road around £10 a night which is expected in a city centre. The location of the hotel is perfect. Foot steps away from a nice red lion pub, and a few more to the best Indian restaurant Mumbai lounge. An absolute must when in York. What else can you ask for?

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Situated around 10 minutes walk from the city centre, this hotel is convenient for all of the tourists attractions. It is not in the best area of the city, but is close to the canal basin which is worth a look. It is also close to York castle. York is a small city, so walking from one end of the city centre to the other only takes 10-15 minutes.
The hotel is basic, but not as basic as say Travelodge. This a relatively newly-built hotel a rooms are clean and fresh.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor as the hotel is near a busy road. Higher floor suffer less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dunbarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Quite a modern room and the lobby was nice. Internet was included as well as hairdryer and iron. There was only a shower if that matters to you. Rooms looked new and well kept, bath was very modern, although they were a little small as was the bath.

Convenient to Old York and a walk through the town. Lots of pubs and shops nearby. Very quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The hotel is well located for sightseeing, the room was nicely decorated, the shower was powerful but the one thing that spoilt our stay was the bed, it was very uncomfortable and we kept rolling into the middle of the matress. I was desperate to get home for a decent nights sleep and on that basis I would not stay here again. Another down side was that the parking was not included in the price and was an additional £10 per day. I cannot comment on the food or drinks as we used the Wetherspoons across the road for breakfast and visited local restaurants and pubs at night.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank lors4847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Only stayed for one night ,but was happy with the service we received.The front of desk staff were excellent ,as was the barman.
Room has everything you need ,with a decent size bathroom and a large comfy bed.
Great buffet breakfast in the morning,with efficient staff in the dining room.

The only negatives would be the paying to park ,and a fair bit of outside noise.
But i would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andnot123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 53? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 53

Address: 53 Piccadilly, York YO1 9PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: $68 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 53 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 53 is in a central location within the city walls and is a short walk from York's major attractions. The hotel's clean, modern exterior is complemented by elegant interior design, creating an atmosphere of stylish simplicity. Whether you're taking a short break, staying with us for a little longer or on business you'll feel immediately at ease at Hotel 53 York. At Hotel 53, we aim for individuality and flair, with the most modern facilities to ensure that our guests receive a warm and professional service throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel 53 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn York
53 Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing