We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room”
Review of Hotel 53

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 53
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Good choice at Breakfast nice staff , check in and check out very smooth and nice friendly receptionist. lovely room and very nice scottish soap toiletries - bar staff friendly but not too intrusive would stay again

Room Tip: I had room 207 and it was overlooking a little grassed area had no problem with noise. very nice bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,907)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,267 - 1,273 of 1,907 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2013

Excellent value - new, clean and friendly.
But (and it's a very big BUT)
The double bed must have been sourced by a very small person - uncormfortable for two unless you are both also very small. (Shame, in all other respects it ticked all the boxes.)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milliemicron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on business. The rooms were very nice. Very modern but extremely comfortable.

The parking is just across the road but closes at 9. I was working late but thankfully the staff were more than happy to open the parking for me. Unfortunately all the food service stops at 9 as well so don't hope for a late night room service.

I didn't have the breakfast as it was quite expensive so I walked into York instead. It was easy to walk in, the street the hotel is on is very quiet but 5 minutes walk and you are in central York.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed for one night on the 19th May. Fantastic value. Room lovely & clean. Excellent location, within walking distance of all Yorks attractions. Would highly recommend & will be using again when we next visit York .

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThomaTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Whilst the room wasn't anything spectacular, it was exceptionally clean and tidy, and ideal to use as a base for York. The reception staff were very polite and helpful.

Just one gripe - only one large towel had been put in the bathroom, which we hadn't realised until the second person got out of the shower! We could have telephoned for another, but quicker to use the same towel. We had great difficulty in regulating the shower temperature in the walk-in shower, either scalding or too cold.

The bed was huge, but found the lack of a bedside table inconvenient, though there was a shelf above the bed and a little cubby-hole built into the headboard.

The best part about the hotel for me was the breakfast. Good quality ingredients and plenty of choice. All piping hot, and very tasty. Waiting staff very efficient in clearing your plates unobtrusively.

Parking was available across the road for £10 per night, although there are plenty of private car parks nearby if you can't get into the hotel one (although all are about the same price).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiggyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Hotel 53 is a contemporary hotel within easy walking of York Minster and all the delights of York. Parking is available at a cost of £10 for 24 hours. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are comfortable. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly. This hotel is perfectly located for a stay in York.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I have had a pleasant stay staying at the hotel, I felt that room space was just adequate for 2 people, not sure what other rooms options were there. Dominique was very helpful in suggesting the places to move around the Hotel and I liked the facilities around and especially the staff who were very friendly for us as we were new to the place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rishiarora79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,553 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
3,032 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel York Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 53? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 53

Address: 53 Piccadilly, York YO1 9PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: $81 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 53 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 53 is in a central location within the city walls and is a short walk from York's major attractions. The hotel's clean, modern exterior is complemented by elegant interior design, creating an atmosphere of stylish simplicity. Whether you're taking a short break, staying with us for a little longer or on business you'll feel immediately at ease at Hotel 53 York. At Hotel 53, we aim for individuality and flair, with the most modern facilities to ensure that our guests receive a warm and professional service throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel 53 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn York
53 Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing