We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Cost-Effective Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 53

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 53
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in York
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Cost-Effective Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Stayed here for one night when up in York. The hotel room was great value for money with a good location. The staff were all on hand to help. The room was very clean and served it's purpose to fulfill all my expectations.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    570
    311
    127
    63
See reviews for
238
755
46
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

on booking the hotel for 1 night we decieded to stop another really enjoyed and would go back again.

room was nice staff were helpfull and polite breakfast was fab what more can i say

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank martin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

The hotel looks great from the outside, location is fantastic, but the too let us down. Check in was easy, but arrived at our room to find hair in the bed and a toilt that was dirty and a couple of cracks, I informed reception who did change the room for us and got a free drink which I thort was nice. But the next room was above the kitchen fans very noisy, they did go off at night but were back on early morning. The bed was to mattresses joined together not good at all, and as for the shower 1st you need to wok out how it works u will be lucky to get hot water never mind a bit of power. Then after such a poor nights sleep breakfast was a let down, the cooked breakfast was cold, and the toaster only toasts 1 side, I informed the waitress that the breakfast was cold she said ok I'll tell the chef, no sorry, didn't even come bak to explain as to why it was cold. I will decently not be staying here again and will be tell my friends and family not to either if they visit York, very dissapointed .

Room Tip: Chose the travel lodge across the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel53york, Front Office Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments.

I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the location of the alternative room we offered you - had you chosen to inform us that this was not to your liking we could have offered you an alternative room that you deemed more suitable.

Whilst our King-Bedded rooms are, admittedly, two adjoining identical single beds, they do fit perfectly together and king-bedded linen is provided.

The vast majority of our guests do enjoy the spacious power showers and find them very easy-to-use, however, if you were struggling to get it to work, had you informed Reception we could have arranged for a member of staff to demonstrate how it works for you.

I would also like to apologise unreservedly for the issues you experienced at breakfast - I am genuinely surprised to learn that you thought the breakfast was cold and, more so, that the staff member was unhelpful - we will be investigating this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Great location - 5 minutes walk from the centre of York, close enough to all the attractions, but far enough away to be quiet.

This is a new hotel, so quite plain, but very clean. Staff were very very efficient & friendly.

We stayed for 2 nights over the weekend. Breakfast on Saturday was great, very well cooked, and lots of choice. Sunday morning was extremely busy and was a bit like being in a school canteen!

A bit pricey for what it was, but the rooms were a good size, massive bed, walk in shower, and was exceptionally clean and tidy.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Dont pay for the breakfast it's very poor in comparison to other hotels i have stayed in. Infact it was cold! PoP in to Weatherspoons for breakfast across the road. Bacon sandwich and tea less than £4. The hotel was described as luxury I think that's maybe a over rated. It's more the quality of a premier inn with modern decor. Staff okay but seem a lot of people staff not doing much at breakfast. The location is great thou. Parking was available.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank relaxunwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel53york, Front Office Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Thank you for your comments.

I am genuinely disappointed to learn that you believed your breakfast to be cold - this is certainly not reflective of standard service here at Hotel53.

However, should this have been the case, I believe it would be reasonable to suggest that this is something that you should have given us the opportunity to rectify at the time - by raising this with a member of the restaurant staff, who, I am certain, would have ensured you were provided with breakfast at a temperature to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria, BC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

On a recent visit to York I wanted a hotel that was inside the Roman walls of the city so that I could walk to all the Minster and the museums, but I also wanted secure parking for my car and I wanted a modern well-designed hotel at a moderate cost. Hotel 53 more than fitted the bill. Friendly and really reception made for a pleasant welcome. There is excellent design in the hotel with large uncluttered rooms and good quality fittings. Only two minor quibbles: the general sound insulation could be improved and better bedside lighting would help. But a great location and a sensible cost.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marxina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We booked this hotel at the last minute as part of a half term treat to York. We arrived and were efficiently booked in.
Our room was small for two adults & two kids (one double, one fold down bed) but we were staying for only one night so this did not pose a problem.
The room was comfortable with all the basics, the decor was modern and stylish and gave a slightly luxurious feel!
What was nice was the room was actually set for 4, so many times you end up asking for more towels, bedding, cups etc.
We all loved the walk in shower and all the toiletries! The room & shower/toilet room were clean.
The double bed was super comfy, unfortunately the fold down was not!
This hotel has a restaurant and bar, we did not visit them but they looked welcoming - maybe next time.
The hotel is a short walk from the attactions and city centre and there is plenty of public parking around about (at a price!!!)
Overall, we found this a really comfortable night-stop and would use it again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Upnorfagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#5 of 47 in York
4.5 of 5 stars 641 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Monkbar Hotel
0.2 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
3.5 of 5 stars 2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 53? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 53

Property: Hotel 53
Address: 53 Piccadilly, York YO1 9PL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 53 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 53 is in a central location within the city walls and is a short walk from York's major attractions. The hotel's clean, modern exterior is complemented by elegant interior design, creating an atmosphere of stylish simplicity. Whether you're taking a short break, staying with us for a little longer or on business you'll feel immediately at ease at Hotel 53 York. At Hotel 53, we aim for individuality and flair, with the most modern facilities to ensure that our guests receive a warm and professional service throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 53 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn York
53 Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing