We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Surprise”
Review of Hotel 53

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 53
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed August 21, 2011

A friendly, modern hotel in the midst of a magnificent old city. Nothing negative could be said about this hotel and its personnel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archiebeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,907)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,597 - 1,603 of 1,907 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2011

nice hotel but too much noise from outside bedrooms have no double glazing.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parkinson42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Another UK hotel without aircon! That meant leaving the window open, and a choice between traffic noise on one side of the hotel, or commercial refrigeration on the other.
The bedding would have been suitable for an arctic winter, just so heavy.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed here for two nights with friends last November to see the Christmas markets. The hotel is just out of the historic centre but it was incredibly easy to walk into the town centre. The bar at the hotel was a nice place to sit and relax. The rooms were and OK size but my one gripe was that the bed was incredibly small. I almost wish I had a measuring tape because it seemed smaller than a regular double! My husband and I like to have a good sleep when we are at a hotel, and while it was quiet and dark with the curtains shut, the bed was an issue, paricularly for the price.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spring_Chick_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

stayed for two nights, cannot find anything negative to say very clean, nice sized room, had all that we needed, location short stroll from main centre, staff friendly, will stay here again

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BathgateSunspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Modern clean hotel in a convenient location.
Does lack a little character but makes up for this in other ways.

We slept really well on our short visit to York.
Our room was spacious and really nice.

Would recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dermot m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights. On arrival the receptionist was lovley, very friendly and gave us a map of York, on entering our room we were amazed. Lovely big bed, sofa, nice tv and desk area, amazing bathroom and shower! However the rooms were so hot that it was hard to enjoy our stay as we didn't get much sleep. The hotel was in a nice location close to the dungeons, river, castle museum and cliffords tower. It was not too far to walk to the shops but there weren't many bars close by (that we could find) apart from weatherspoons. The staff at the hotel were professional and nothing seemed a problem for them. We did enjoy our stay but did not sleep well at all!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank racheljo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,553 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
3,032 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel York Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 53? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 53

Address: 53 Piccadilly, York YO1 9PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: $81 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 53 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 53 is in a central location within the city walls and is a short walk from York's major attractions. The hotel's clean, modern exterior is complemented by elegant interior design, creating an atmosphere of stylish simplicity. Whether you're taking a short break, staying with us for a little longer or on business you'll feel immediately at ease at Hotel 53 York. At Hotel 53, we aim for individuality and flair, with the most modern facilities to ensure that our guests receive a warm and professional service throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 53 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn York
53 Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing