We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely fabulous”
other travelers have booked this property
High gloss, fully fitted kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
High gloss, fully fitted kitchen
Master Bedroom En suite, with shower over bath
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
8 reviews
High gloss, fully fitted kitchen
Master Bedroom
En suite, with shower over bath
Open plan living space, with smart TV
Dining area
Petty second bedroom
Shower room
Outdoor seating
Moatside Gate
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Safari687...
2 reviews
“Absolutely fabulous”
Reviewed October 23, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

What a fantastic place to stay
Modern clean and very well laid out.
We loved the place from the minute we entered
Right in the middle of York as well.
What a great little break we had
Many thanks

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 25, 2017
Hi,
Thank you very much for a lovely review! Really glad you enjoyed your stay at Moatside.
Best regards,
Annabel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieP821
Lot, France
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect location for York and pet friendly as well”
Reviewed March 20, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We rented this apartment for one week in York. All on one level floor it comprise of two bedrooms one with ensuite and a separate shower and loo. Very well equipped kitchen with dishwasher, washer dryer, coffee machine etc. Good lounge area with wifi and net flicks for dull days. Clean and comfortable white bedding good quality cotton. Towels white and soft as well. Nicely decorated and airy. Secure with gated access controlled by gate key. Parking for 2 cars so no parking charges.
Excellent location for a city break to York.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 22, 2017
Thanks for the great review Julie! So glad to hear you enjoyed the stay. Chris (Stays York).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 1, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 30, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SandraW31...
1 review
“A wondeful stay in my favourite city, York”
Reviewed October 27, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had a lovely stay in this beautiful cottage. We found everything we needed in the cottage. It was in a very quiet cul-de-sac and we were only two or three minutes walk from the centre. We had plenty of parking space which is a Godsend in such a busy town. We really enjoyed our stay and would consider staying here again in the near future. Definitely would recommend this cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the position and free parking
Liked least: the beds could have been a little bigger
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c__h2008...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent bolthole in a central location.”
Reviewed January 8, 2016 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Moatside gate is a compact property set on a quiet backstreet just outside the city wall. Centrally located with everything in easy walking distance. Free, private, off street parking a definite advantage. Two small but comfortable double bedrooms with bathrooms, a cosy seating area with TV and small kitchen/dining area. We had a great meal in No 8 Bistro, just a short walk away. Property is small, but provided all we needed during our short stay in York. Agency was very efficient and easy to deal with.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing