We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful house near the centre”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Second bedroom
Second bedroom
Second bedroom
Third bedroom
Family bathroom
Shower cubicle, ensuite
Downstairs Wc
Third bedroom
Still availability for Christmas holidays!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sue F
Crook, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Peaceful house near the centre”
Reviewed September 5, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This house is in a quiet street only ten minutes walk (longer with small children) from the centre of York, entering the city through Monkgate. It is really comfortable with a well equipped kitchen, with a dishwasher, washing machine, huge fridge, freezer, oven, microwave so that self catering is a dream. There is a house bathroom, enquire and downstairs loo. It's a great house for children, even a toy box is provided, and it was lovely to arrive and be able to make tea, coffee or hot chocolate with milk and biscuits provided. The internal decor is cool and modern and sofa, chairs and beds are really comfortable. Also a good price for York. We only stayed two night. I wish it had been for longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 6, 2015
Thank you very much for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and found the house well equipped - we do try to think of everything that people may need and want, so it makes us very happy to receive such an appreciative review. Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swe16epy
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning House”
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

What a stunning and very clean house. Set in a very quite location and just a 10-15min walk away from York centre. The accommodation had everything you need. We really enjoyed our stay and highly recommend it.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2015
Thank you very much for your kind review, we are really glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dot112234
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed August 1, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We recently stayed at Henshaw House for a week, mainly to visit York, but also to see the coast and Dales. The house was perfect for our needs – 2 adults and 2 teenagers, who were delighted that they had their own bedroom each! The parking was a real bonus too – 2 spaces – we only needed one, but having experienced central York parking in the past and what a nightmare it can be, this was really welcome. The house was immaculately clean, beautifully furnished, with extremely comfortable beds – the blackout curtains, free wifi and plenty of complimentary toiletries and drinks/biscuits were much appreciated. Really good selection of dvds and games – lots of recent films we hadn't even seen yet. A nice stroll in to City Centre – we tried Cafe No.8 (one of the suggestions in file) and had a fabulous meal there. Nice to have a garden to relax in with a glass of wine at the end of the day. Location was great – close enough to city centre, but nice and quiet – we have stayed centrally in the past and have been kept awake by loud drunkards til 3am! We love York and will definitely stay at Henshaw House next time we come here, thank you!
Ps – I don't like to be greedy, but 2 extra hot chocolate sachets would have been welcome – it's not just kids who enjoy it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2015
Thank you very much for your kind review, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay at Henshaw House. We really try to think of our guests' comfort and well-being first and foremost, so receiving a review like this really makes our day!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon, hopefully.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing