We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tongue Thai'd”
Review of The Old Siam

The Old Siam
Ranked #82 of 879 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tongue Thai'd”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I was in York for a short break and had seen the reviews for this restaurant and having eaten Thai in London thought I would give this a try. The staff were amazingly friendly and courteous and couldn't do enough to help you. I had the chicken satay for starters just the right amount of spice and the chicken was juicy and very tasty, My partner forgo the starters and had the Thai Yellow Curry with coconut rice which she said was the best curry she had eaten in ages the levels of spice for her were perfectly balanced and she really enjoyed it. Me being a bit braver went for the classic Thai Red Curry and boy it didn't disappoint in any way!!!! full of flavour and a kick like a mule as an afterburn, presentation was great and good sized portions. The only downside was with it being a chilly January evening my partner said it was a little cold in the restaurant although i found it to be ok perhaps she should have gone for the Thai Red Curry maybe that would have warmed her up. All round very good and will certainly be going back next time i am in York

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 88ChrisG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    479
    223
    51
    29
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful food! ”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

The food was absolutely amazing! The chicken massaman curry was just like being in Thailand!
Good service, friendly staff.
Very reasonably priced!
Looking forward to a return visit! xx

Helpful?
Thank hardtopleaseGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A great find!”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Having a two day break in York and looking for somewhere a bit different than the usual chains. We love Thai food and this did not disappoint . Helpful staff, excellent menu choice and a quiet corner to enjoy our visit. Would highly recommend but book first it gets very busy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank topsy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“average”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

very friendly staff but thought the food was pretty average, from all the good comments about the food i was expecting it to be really good but wasn't to impressed, id give it 7 out of 10

  • Visited July 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Now THIS is a Thai restaurant”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

What a great authentic place. The service was so welcoming and friendly. The walls are decked out with traditional art and the food is excellent.
Their thai iced tea is not to be missed. The chicken satay was so delicious. My sister got pad thai, and I got a red curry with prawns.
But be warned, their chilis (marking hotness on the menu) are hotter than most places. I got my curry with a 2, I love hot and spicy stuff, and my mouth was on fire.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Siam also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Old Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing