We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely meal and great service.”
Review of The Old Siam

The Old Siam
Ranked #78 of 882 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A lovely meal and great service.”
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

We went on a Monday night and booked as recommended by another review. It was very busy. The tables at the front of the restaurant are better spaced out.
The food was lovely and the wine reasonably priced.
A lovely night out and would go again.

Helpful?
Thank Daisydebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    480
    223
    51
    29
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“A thoroughly enjoyable experience”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I must echo all the positives that have been posted about this place. The food was first class which was very welcome when so many Asian restaurants these days disappoint.
All I would add is that you should try and get a table in the front part of the dining area. At the rear there are some tables in an area that is a bit cluttered. You cannot blame them for wanting to accommodate as many diners as possible but front is best.
House wine was attractively priced and surprisingly good.
You will not be disappointed here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank XRXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHEFFIELD
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Tantilising Thai”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Very authentic food, great flavours and we'll cooked, good service at a reasonable price.
You will need to book

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank PETERSCOTHORN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Thai Ever”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We visited on the recommendation of a friend who lives in York (and who knows her Asian food) and were not disappointed. This is a very small family run restaurant where booking is probably essential at weekends (it was completely full when we visited on a Saturday evening).
The menu is what you would expect of a Thai restaurant but the quality is sublime and by far the best I have had in the UK with both taste and depth to the floavours in all the dishes we had. Service was attentive but not overbearing and we were never hurried despite it being so busy.
It's a little distance from the main central area, but within the city walls just by Micklegate but dont let that put you off this is the best value meal you could possibly have in York.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian19650715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“As Authentic As You Can Get”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

I booked in to here after some language barrier problems. So Thai it is then! You're not going to get better than that.
We just had mains and desserts. I plumped for a red curry with coconut rice. It was listed as spicy but it wasn't too hot. Probably labeled for the wimpy of us English! I'm happy with spices. The flavours were very well balanced though and I thoroughly enjoyed the dish.
The people on the next table had snags with the service and it appears their starters were forgotten as we already had our mains before they asked about their starters. I think they received these foc for the mishap? Our service however was impeccable and so I still rate as excellent.
I'd advise booking a table as it was very busy whilst we were there. It also looked busy the couple of other nights we walked past.

Helpful?
Thank Happy-To-Wander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Siam also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Old Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing