We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing Indian about this place” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tandoori Nights - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tandoori Nights
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
London
Level Contributor
135 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Nothing Indian about this place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

This is the most disgusting 'Indian' restaurant I have ever been in. There is nothing Indian about it. It wasn't my choice of venue and I was braced for British Curry rather than genuine Indian food. The menu lived up to my expectations, offering Baltis and Tikka Masala. However, that kind of cuisine can still be tasty. I (foolishly) decided that Veg Biryani would be a safe bet. OH NO. It was flavourless and the usual ingredients had been replaced by large, soggy brussels sprouts. Totally inedible.
The following day, the rest of the party I was with admitted that they hadn't enjoyed their meals either and wouldn't return.
The service was erratic and fairly brusque and the decor is depressing. There must be SO many nicer places to eat in York.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KLondonK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Delicious Indian dishes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

We have the tastecard and the application and We decided to give Tandoori night a try. We had passed it a couple of times walking to town from our hotel and the menu looked very nice.

We went on a Wednesday night at 9pm and it was rather busy for a week day night. We were greeted and quickly sat at a table near the back of the restaurant.

The waiter asked if we wanted poppadoms, we asked for three and they were brought over with four dips, two being, Chutney and cucumber Raitha.

We chose the Onion Bhaji and the mixed kebab for starters and for the main meal we chose the Special Vegetarian dinner and the hot tandoori Chicken massala with rice and a garlic naan.

We also ordered two ciders.

The meal was brilliant, I honestly cant complain about anything because we cleared our plates.

The restaurant accepts the taste card and it ended up being 2 for 1 on all dishes

Bargain for a great meal.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinuprobot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A good find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

Came across this Indian by chance as it was close to our Guest house on a rather cold night. Very friendly & attentive staff without being in your face. Food very good - Can certainly recommend the Chicken Tikka Masalla. Portions appeared small on arrival but just right on eating.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aberdeenfan438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Top notch as usual”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

First rate food and service as usual, probably the best curry in York.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tyreeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Totally average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

The restaurant is spread through 3 rooms and was virtually empty while we were there. The ambience was OK. I had a king prawn pathia on puree which was presented with the curry to one side of the plate and the puree wrapped on the other. Unfortunately the prawns were small and obviously frozen ( chewy and tasteless), and the sauce didn't resemble a pathia. One of my tests on an Indian restaurant is the thali ifit's on the menu, so I had the meat and my wife had the chicken. Mine consisted of 4 meat dishes. One was apparently a pasanda but was sickly sweet and full of coconut. The remaining 3 small pots had very similar tasting curries and could have easily been the same dish. I was surprised not to have a dry meat dish, either tandoori or tikka. A small portion of rice was in the centre. My wife's was identical but with chicken. Rubbish.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ChiefCynicist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tandoori Nights also viewed

 
Sutton on the Forest, York
 
Strensall, York
Long Marston, York
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing