We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning venue for family weekend”
Hot tub and patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hot tub and patio
Drone ariel view South wing
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Hot tub and patio
Drone ariel view
South wing
North wing
View from canal
View from canal with marque
Stairwell
Kitchen
Kitchen diner
Lounge
Lounge, fireplace and curved tv
Snug
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1 balcony view
Bedroom 6
Bedroom 2
Bunk room
Downstairs wetroom
bathroom 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Derek C
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stunning venue for family weekend”
Reviewed November 13, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Excellent location, with canal at bottom of garden. Canoe & kayak to use, wood burning hot tub always available (thanks James), bbq, outdoor furniture, car parking for at least ten cars, grouse wandering about. It's got everything outside and inside is equally fabulous. Great kitchen, 2 dining rooms, massive lounge (full Sky TV package - we watched Brazilian Grand Prix), great choice of bedroom/bathroom arrangements. We had a wonderful weekend: 6 adults and 6 children. Best annual get together ever! Thank you James Rhodes.

Date of stay: November 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xJennieHx
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic place, friendly and welcoming”
Reviewed August 20, 2017 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for a friend's hen do last year, apologies for late review. Couldn't fault anything about it...clean, fab facilities, lovely touches on arrival and the hot tub was insane! Thanks so much for the best long weekend!

Date of stay: October 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valeriero...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Idyllic modern country house”
Reviewed March 29, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Idyllic setting, beautiful house,well equuped. Owner and family very friendly . Booked for a hen party and hot tub was a hit. Would have no hesitation in booking again or recommending to anyone .

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne R
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stunning house, beautiful location & excellent hospitality!”
Reviewed June 6, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a 3 night stay with 12 females of varying ages, to celebrate my 50th birthday. I have to say, the photos really do not do the property justice! it is beautiful. The layout has been well thought out for its guests in terms of the bedrooms, with the flexibility in some rooms to convert the beds. The house is so spacious even at maximum occupancy. The location is idyllic, the views are beautiful, I can't rate it high enough. Then there's the owner, James, who can't do enough for guests, from start to finish, he really is so helpful. I can't thank him enough, we had the perfect stay, and loved every minute, there is nothing negative to say!

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view/position of the house
Liked least: having to leave
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“There couldn't be a more beautiful house”
Reviewed May 31, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Amazing from start to finish, the owner was so helpful and the house was stunning. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to escape into the country with a beautiful view and luxury accommodation.
I will definitely be back!

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That it was secluded
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2016
Dear Stephanie,
Thank you. I'm really pleased you enjoyed the house and your stay so much. Look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards
James.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liam T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Filming location”
Reviewed March 23, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We filmed an advert here and I can only say it was an incredible setting for it. The interior of the house is breathtaking and equally beautiful exterior. The size and grandeur of the house was ideal for our situation and I couldn't recommend it highly enough.

I want to also mention our incredible host. He was attentive, happy to help and was fast to reply to any questions we had.

I would say to anyone who wants a brilliant house with a fantastic view of the Yorkshire countryside to come to this location.

Date of stay: March 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H C
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The most stunning house I have ever stayed in!”
Reviewed March 1, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I stayed at Waterside House for my friend's hen do this past weekend and I cannot rate the house highly enough. The pictures for this property do not do justice as to how beautiful and luxurious this house was-we couldn't believe our luck when we walked through the front door! Everything is finished to such a high standard and the facilities go beyond what I would expect of a holiday home, from the underfloor heating to the dvd library. The wood fired hot tub was bliss and to be able to relax in such beautiful surroundings was amazing. We went as a party of 11 and not once did it feel crowded, with plenty of space and seating to be comfortable at all times. The owner James was lovely, from the beautiful welcome basket of goodies that greeted us to the constant care over the hot tub, making sure it was ready for us to use each evening. I honestly cannot recommend this beautiful home highly enough and the only downside for me is that the weekend is over! I certainly hope to return one day!

Date of stay: February 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gorgeous kitchen
Liked least: Honestly nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 2, 2016
Thank you for such a great review. It is brilliant to hear that my house is exceeding expectations.
It would be great to welcome you back sometime in the future.
Kind regards
James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing