We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second unforgettable experience in Kapadokya restaurant!!”
Review of Kapadokya 50

Kapadokya 50
Ranked #39 of 882 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $26
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Kapadokya 50 is a traditional Turkish run family restaurant, owned by Hayati & Mithat Kucukkoylu. It is situated in the city centre of York, North Yorkshire with easy access to public transport including a good bus network, and it is only a short walk from York Railway Station and within easy walking distance of all the major city centre hotels.
2 reviews
“Second unforgettable experience in Kapadokya restaurant!!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband returned to this lovely restaurant last week. We were received by a very nice and welcoming staff. We took the recomendation from the manager and went for the sigara borek and selection meze for starters with some really nice and warm bread. I had lamb on the bone as the main. Tender and very tasty. It was delicious!! My husband had the mixed grill. A very nice selection of meats cooked in the bbq in the traditional way. Also amazingly tasty!! Our second visit to Kapadokya was definitely worth it. Friendly staff, amazing food and very nice atmosphere. Will definitely be visiting a third time!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HeleneRifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapadokya303, Owner at Kapadokya 50, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
thanks very much for your kind comments
nice to hear comments from valued customers
your very wellcome
we hope to see you again
Mithat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    763
    226
    58
    27
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly & generous helpings”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Mushrooms in tomato/cheese sauce cooked to perfection, lamb dish was superb, vegetarian dish large and tasty. Service was friendly and attentive. Dessert menu was a bit limited.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J7Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapadokya303, Owner at Kapadokya 50, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
thanks very much for your kind comments
your very wellcome
we hope to see you again
Mithat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Friendly”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Great food and service. Portions are generous and very tasty. Thought service was slick and we were well happy with our visit here.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapadokya303, Owner at Kapadokya 50, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
thanks very much for your kind comments
nice to hear comments from valued customers
your very wellcome
we hope to see you again
Mithat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasure with Every Bite”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

This is the second time my friend and I are visiting York. Dining in this restaurant for the second time was a must. The first time we were in York, we had been looking for a cozy restaurant for a very long time and were happy to come across Kapadokya 50. We were greated by the friendly staff, and it wasn't long before we were seated on a beautifully arranged table. It was decorated with gas candles, which contributed to the warm and relaxed atmosphere. The staff was very helpful in recommending us traditional Turkish cold mixed meze and a bottle of aromatic Turkish red wine. When we commenced to order from the rich menu, the waiters quickly brought us splendid grilled lamb shish, assorted with oriental spices, and a delicious vegetarian dish, aubergine stuffed with a mix of vegetables. We were also brought salad and rice that complemented the main dishes.
Our dinner in Kapadokya 50 was by far the one of the best parts of our visit to York, and we can't wait to get the chance to dine there again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapadokya303, Owner at Kapadokya 50, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
thanks very much for your kind comments
nice to hear comments from valued customers
your very wellcome
we hope to see you again
Mithat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect!!”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Amazing service!! Lovely food, relaxing and authentic atmosphere - lovely night! Will definitely come back again

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CeriRichardsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapadokya303, Owner at Kapadokya 50, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
thanks very much for your kind comments
nice to hear comments from valued customers
your very wellcome
we hope to see you again
Mithat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kapadokya 50 also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Kapadokya 50? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing