We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The cottage was lovely and cozy.”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Kitchen Area
The cosy contemporary lounge with log burner
Secluded rural location
Nearby Village - Newton -on Ouse
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lai Y
1 review
“The cottage was lovely and cozy.”
Reviewed August 12, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The cottage was nice and clean. The kids loved the hot tub and the amazing view from the front lawn. Where the kids played football. To top it off the owner was kind and very helpful.

Date of stay: August 2015
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueMargBa...
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely modern cottage, peaceful location but very convenient for York”
Reviewed May 31, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Very comfortable cottage with all mod cons and added bonus of luxury hot tub. The only negative for us although this may not be a negative for some people was the roof window in the bedroom which meant the room was flooded with light very early in the morning. If you don't want to wake up at the crack of dawn you may want to take something to cover your eyes.

Date of stay: May 2015
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 4, 2015
Hi

Thanks for the feedback re the roof window, we hadn't got around to sourcing a blind for it , as needs to be remotely operated and difficult to find and fit- but will certainly do so now.

Thanks for the feedback.
Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andchris2...
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed May 28, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I picked the cottage for a few days away, after hubby been working abroad for a month.

The cottage is set in lovely countryside, not too far from two small villages and the park and ride for York.
Arrived just before 4pm on the Saturday and we were warmly greeted by Margaret, the owner, who showed us around the cottage and explained how things worked, even offering us a lift to and from the village pub if we needed one.
The cottage is light and airy, packed with all the comforts of home with the added bonus of a log burning stove and hot tub, which we made the most of!. Also has Sky tv and wifi.
Local chinese and indian takeaway will deliver and the Blacksmiths pub grub and service is fantastic.
Mam and dad came to stay on the bank holiday Monday and really enjoyed themselves., chatting to Barry about the background of the property, the wildlife and his steam traction engine.

The only downside is that we woke up far too early, could possibly do with some curtains in the bedroom, but is that just us?

Otherwise,,,,, ten out of ten to Margaret and Barry and would recommend staying here to friends and family. x

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub and log burner
Liked least: Waking up too early
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 4, 2015
Respond to review "Lovely modern cottage, peaceful location but very convenient for York" of The Owl Barn Cottage, Nr York



Are you sure?

Your new guests will read this response. Does it paint the best picture of your property?



Your reponse:


Hi


Thanks for the feedback re the roof window, we hadn't got around to sourcing a blind for it , as needs to be remotely operated and difficult to find and fit- but will certainly do so now.


Thanks for the feedback.

Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaraJPax
1 review
“Home from home away from all the hustle and bustle.”
Reviewed April 15, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Relaxing stay in the gorgeous cottage with plenty of attractions around should you want a day out. Third visit there and will return. Love the hot tub!

Date of stay: March 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
60johnE
Lincoln
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Rejuvinating”
Reviewed March 27, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Our third time at Owl Barn Cottage. It really is a relaxing cottage, complete with a wonderful hot tub. The cottage has all the facilities that you need, two bedrooms, bathroom and shower room, and an open plan dining and cooking room.
The cottage is within 10 minutes drive of the Park and Ride at York, to save having to pay city car park fees and plenty of restaurants within easy reach of the cottage if you don't want to eat in.
The hosts are wonderful, and booking and arrival/departure arrangements are hassle free.
Looking forward to going back soon.
It is rare that we visit more than one place more than twice, to have visited here three times and are looking forward to returning, is a testament to the quality of the accomodation.

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful ambience
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester...
Coalville, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Returning for a third visit!”
Reviewed March 23, 2015 for a stay in April 2014

As a romantic getaway this cottage was just perfect! My husband and I booked a mid week break to celebrate our wedding anniversary and had a fabulous time. The cottage and outdoor hot tub maintains privacy throughout but with the added bonus of the owners being on site if required. There is a park and ride nearby which you can use to explore the gorgeous city of York. We were so impressed that we re booked a surprise long weekend with our two sons and they absolutely loved it. We have recently booked a third visit as a family again and the boys can't wait to use the hot tub and jacuzzi bath. I can't recommend this cottage enough and look forward to our next visit.

Date of stay: April 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ianlufc82
1 review
“Perfect romantic escape”
Reviewed March 20, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This was our 2nd visit to owl barn cottage, and I really cannot rate it highly enough! We went this time for valentines weekend and beautiful flowers, chocolates and champagne were waiting when we arrived. The setting is perfect, isolated and so quiet and peaceful, but still only a short drive from York City centre. The cottage itself is superb, very classy with the log burner, under floor heating, stunning natural features and a jacuzzi bath. It is modern and comfortable in the extreme! And the icing on the cake is the hot tub! On our previous visit we drank champagne in there as snow fell. No snow this time but still a wonderful relaxing evening. We will 200% be back here, in fact we have pledged to get a weekend here every year now!! A perfect weekend break.

Date of stay: February 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing