We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Italian with great views”
Review of La Vecchia Scuola

La Vecchia Scuola
Ranked #43 of 874 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: La Vecchia Scuola is a unique dining experience that can be found in Low Petergate, York very close to the Minster. An amazing restaurant set in a 300 year old Georgian building that was once York college for girls. This restaurant is now operated by new owners from February 2013. It has an innovative new menu with all food sourced locally and prepared for customer onsite.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
328 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Lovely Italian with great views”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Are visit in York always starts here a wonderful place, with good food good views of minster and lovely gardens, trip advisor was also present on the reception computer so well done the reviews mean they count.

Keep up the good work

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EAN44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    865
    292
    76
    48
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
328 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“The first place to visit”
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

It's a tradition now that our first night in York for a meal is here. As usual the food was excellent, friendly staff and lovely view of garden and Minster.

Wonderful start to a relaxing weekend, well done all the staff, it was also positive to see that Trip Advisor was on the reception computer.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EAN44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Had a fantastic time here... food and surroundings were excellent. The Antipasto starter was amazing, beautifully presented. We had cannelloni and lasagne, with a side salad. Absolutely delicious. Will return!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jude19604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Mids
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A really enjoyable evening”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A lovely restaurant in a beautiful old school building right in the centre of York. We ate her on a Saturday evening whilst visiting York for the weekend and sat in the conservatory.
The staff were attentive and extremely pleasant from the moment we entered. We had main course and a dessert which arrived very quickly and was beautifully presented and piping hot. Both my husband and myself thoroughly enjoyed our main course and did the classic thing where I wished I'd had what he had. After a short break for wine and a chat our dessert was served and again both were beautifully presented and tasted as good as they looked. We had seen advertised outside that there would be a pianist in the restaurant that evening who played along while we ate and was accompanied to the strains of Dehlia by a large party celebrating a birthday, which made for a lively evening.
All in all a very pleasant experience, the cost for the 2 of us was just over £60 including wine. I would definitely reccomend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank techy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
81 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wish I'd found it years ago”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We've been going to York for years now and always found it quite an expensive place to eat (even fish and chips outside can set you back a lot). We "found" this place a few months ago when someone who was touting for business gave us the spiel about how good it was, so we went and tried it and was quite impressed. We went back to York this weekend and made a beeline for it this time. They do a lunchtime special which is very reasonable, I have a calzone and my wife had a chicken breast in a mushroom sauce (can't remember what it was called), we both commented how nice the food was. Service was quick and attentive without being pushy. Will definately go again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Vecchia Scuola also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to La Vecchia Scuola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing