We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great style, location and of course Wine!”
Review of Hotel du Vin York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vin York
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great style, location and of course Wine!”
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Brilliant stay, lovely boutique style hotel just outside of the city walls. Very friendly staff and a nice relaxed yet stylish atmosphere.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dsunshineseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    811
    455
    142
    55
    19
See reviews for
138
955
18
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2010

As a treat we stayed in the Moet suite for 2 nights as a short break just after Christmas. The room was spectacular: an 8 foot bed, 2 sofas, 2 clawfoot baths, 2 plasmas, a Bose surround system, some nicely integrated loft features and an oversized rain shower. The service was always polite and the staff were very helpful but we weren't overly impressed with the bar (it is cramped and a trainee messed up our order), our breakfast (limited selection for both the continental and the cooked options) or the dinner (good value but not up to the standard I would expect of a hotel of this class). Some other minor gripes: it was disappointing as ever to have to pay for internet access; we didn't get the newspaper we requested; charging £10 for parking leaves a bad taste in the mouth and I was disappointed to be charged a fixed service charge when eating in the restaurant. All in all very happy with the room but slightly disappointed by the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maninthemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 31, 2010

Fantastic service, rooms, food etc.

There were only two things that were not too good, the recycle collection vehicle reversing up to the glass bottle bins making the required reversing sounds at 6:45am and the crashing of bottles at they emptied three of them; and there wasn't a Gideon Bible in the draw next to the bed.

So tips and guidlines: take earplugs and remember to take a Bible if you want to read one :-)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2010

Our stay at Hotel Du Vin was one of the best stays in many years. We've travelled fairly extensively internationally and it well and truly exceeded our expectations. The staff were friendly, knowledgable and courteous. The rooms were fairl in size and the beds were the best we have ever slept in, in any hotel. We'd always choose to stay there again if ever in York.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa_keddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langkawi, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2010

I've stayed at the York HDV many times,each being of a high quality. They will help you in any way possible, such as ring you when away if a car parking space has become available. This last time a trip switch in the room went off once & 50% was cancelled from the bill! The food is excellent & equally the cocktails. The rooms are amazingly of high spec

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jyoung72342002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2010

This hotel, a converted orphanage, has exceptionally friendly and helpful staff from the front desk to the restaurant/bar to the grounds crew. We enjoyed a very nice meal in the hotel dining room, which featured good food and (as one might expect) an extensive wine list. A continental breakfast, which was included in our rate, was satisfactory and you could for a modest three pounds surcharge, upgrade to a full English breakfast. Our room, though comfortable, provided a somewhat less than restful stay due to ventilation system noise and very noisy guests on the floor above us early in the AM. The bathroom had a waterfall shower and the water pressure was acceptable. It is a short walk from the train station and from the center of York, but we did not find the distance troublesome. A particular thank you to the bartender and sommelier who was very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovehuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2010

This is our home away from home. My husband and I continue to come back here again and again, for business and pleasure. It's romantic, has brilliant staff, great food, incredibly whisky and wonderful rooms. I'm now settled into one of their snugs and working from here for the day (retreating from an awful stay at HdV in Harrogate as sadly York was all booked out!). HdV York, don't change, you're perfect.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KizBits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,252 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
622 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 47 in York
1,212 reviews
1.6 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin York

Property: Hotel du Vin York
Address: 89 The Mount, York YO24 1AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin York 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin & Bistro York is located in the tranquil area known as The Mount, close to the city's historic centre. This beautiful hotel in York city centre is housed within a Grade II-listed building that dates back to the early 19th century. Formerly a private home and an orphanage, the hotel houses 44 stylish bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and private dining rooms, along with a terrace, courtyard and inner forum for alfresco dining. York is a historic and beautiful city, believed to date back from Roman times. York is the county town of Yorkshire, perfect for a cultural getaway or a romantic weekend break that will inspire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel du Vin York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing