We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice - typical English atmosphere”
Review of Hotel du Vin York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Vin York
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Asyut, Egypt
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Really nice - typical English atmosphere”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

From the outside looks like a B&B, but once inside, very nicely decorated and maintains the full English style, with class. The rooms are comfortable - medium size. Had dinner and breakfast. (ok) , service was very good. Its an expensive hotel, but you get the full service..free wifi

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HatOrth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven H, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this 5 Star review of Hotel du Vin York. It means a lot to me and the team to receive such feedback especially when it is shared with the TripAdvisor community.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    821
    458
    144
    55
    19
See reviews for
141
965
18
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Have just had a fab nights stay in this lovely hotel. From the minute we walked in the door we were made so welcome. We were told we had been given a complimentary upgrade, wow, it was truly amazing. We felt very special. All staff were professional and friendly. Ate in Bistro on the evening and food and service was superb. Breakfast was the same. We will return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra18630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven H, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review of Hotel du Vin York. It is always fantastic when we receive such glowing feedback. I hope you will think of us again whenever in the York area.

Kind Regards

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in this very nice and well situated hotel. The room was a little small and the bathroom was as well, but well catered with all the essentials for a short break. The car park was adequate. The only let down was that they stopped serving afternoon tea before 5,but for the rest we were very happy by he professionalism of the staff.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gera M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review, August 29, 2015
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to share your feedback about your recent visit to Hotel du Vin York.

We strive to deliver consistently great service in our beautiful hotel and city, we are very glad we achieved this for something as important as your Anniversary.

We very much look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you both back in the future, if I can be of any personal assistant either now or in the future then please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel.

Warm regards

Richard
Richard Christie
General Manager
Hotel du Vin York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We only stayed for one night, but what a fabulous stay it was!

Things got off to a great start when we were greeted by smiling receptionists who upgraded us from a standard room to a superior one because it was my husband's birthday. We were delighted to be shown to a palatial room featuring a 6' bed and shiny stand-alone bath as well as an additional, generously sized bathroom with a huge shower. A range of lovely complimentary toiletries (also generously sized) compelled me to run a deep and soothing bubble bath within minutes of arrival, with a cup of Nespresso placed handily on the bath rack. Heaven!

On to a three-course dinner in the bistro. What can I say? We ordered mostly from the prix fixe menu because it had a lovely selection of dishes and indeed, every course was better than the last. I won't bore you with the details but the French onion soup, chicken with truffle oil mash, and sour cherry panna cotta are definitely worth a special mention. We also enjoyed the wine recommendation from the charming sommelier (though some research online once home revealed a quite staggering markup on our bottle of Portuguese red - still, I guess that's par for the course). It tasted as delicious as he said it was and was a perfect complement to the food. Our waiter was lovely too, and added to our enjoyment of a truly delightful repast that more than exceeded our expectations.

Finally, the hotel's very close to the centre of York on foot and we were at the city walls and in the centre within a few minutes. Oh, and if you're lucky - as we were - you may be able to save yourself the hotel's £10 overnight parking fee by finding a free space two minute's away on Scarcroft Road...

All in all, we had a great experience and thoroughly recommend this Hotel du Vin. Thank you.

Room Tip: The De Trafford room was large, fabulous and not facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulizizziloulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review, August 29, 2015
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to share your feedback about your recent visit to Hotel du Vin York.

We strive to deliver consistently great service in our beautiful hotel and city, we are very glad we achieved this for something as important as your Anniversary.

We very much look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you both back in the future, if I can be of any personal assistant either now or in the future then please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel.

Warm regards

Richard
Richard Christie
General Manager
Hotel du Vin York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Liked the décor. Car park was a tad small for the number of rooms. Rooms have names not numbers. Good facilities. Liked the espresso machine in the room. Would have liked it to be a bit nearer the centre but anyway it was still walkable. Reception was v friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review, August 29, 2015
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to share your feedback about your recent visit to Hotel du Vin York.

We strive to deliver consistently great service in our beautiful hotel and city, we are very glad we achieved this for something as important as your Anniversary.

We very much look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you both back in the future, if I can be of any personal assistant either now or in the future then please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel.

Warm regards

Richard
Richard Christie
General Manager
Hotel du Vin York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The hotel offers high quality accommodation, very good dining, a well stocked bar and excellent cocktails. Service is just a notch down from perfect at times. We would certainly return. Location is out of the York Stag & Hen zone!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review, August 29, 2015
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to share your feedback about your recent visit to Hotel du Vin York.

We strive to deliver consistently great service in our beautiful hotel and city, we are very glad we achieved this for something as important as your Anniversary.

We very much look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you both back in the future, if I can be of any personal assistant either now or in the future then please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel.

Warm regards

Richard
Richard Christie
General Manager
Hotel du Vin York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed this weekend with my wife , to be honest it's a really nice design hotel , well placed with exellent friendly, unpretentious yet professional staff which to me is how they should be. The location is spot on litterally just a few hundred yards from micklegate. We ate dinner and breakfast in the bistro, both were very good in terms of choice and quality . I would also like to say well done to the person who makes the breakfast coffee very good latte!
The only reason it did'nt get a full five points is that the tv on the bedroom wall was wonky and just looked as though it was initially forgotten and put up as an afterthought. When you look and consider how much time effort and thought has gone into every other element of the hotel, if I was the owner that would really have tipped me over the edge ;-)

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kevreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven H, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write your kind review of Hotel du Vin York. I will ensure your comments are passed to the whole team.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,302 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 47 in York
1,263 reviews
1.6 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin York

Property: Hotel du Vin York
Address: 89 The Mount, York YO24 1AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin York 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin & Bistro York is located in the tranquil area known as The Mount, close to the city's historic centre. This beautiful hotel in York city centre is housed within a Grade II-listed building that dates back to the early 19th century. Formerly a private home and an orphanage, the hotel houses 44 stylish bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and private dining rooms, along with a terrace, courtyard and inner forum for alfresco dining. York is a historic and beautiful city, believed to date back from Roman times. York is the county town of Yorkshire, perfect for a cultural getaway or a romantic weekend break that will inspire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel du Vin York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing