We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Vintage”
Review of Hotel du Vin York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Vin York
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Our visit to Hotel Du Vin in York was a last minute decision, booked on the day of arrival.
We had previously stayed at Hotel Du Vin in Harrogate so had some degree of confidence in the brand but it's always slightly unnerving arriving at a previously unvisited Check In with that initial uncertainty as to what lies ahead. All apprehensions were quickly allayed. The lady on Reception was fantastic - friendly, welcoming and knowledgeable. Our room was great (due to a minor hiccup we had to change rooms but this was organised with a smile and without further ado despite the hotel being almost full). As ours was a fleeting visit there was little chance to enjoy the bar and restaurants - but all areas looked comfortable, inviting and uber clean (we saw one of the team literally scrubbing the floor). Breakfast was very enjoyable - we opted for the full English but feeling a pang of guilt I requested to trade the black pudding for the healthy option carrot and ginger sausage. Good choice! All in all, Hotel Du Vin is not a stand alone owner-operated offering - but despite being part of a larger group and a medium sized hotel, it still manages to encapsulate many of the features that we find so compelling in smaller boutique hotels. On our next visit to York we would have no doubts whatsoever as to our first choice of accommodation. Definitely Hotel Du Vin!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teeandtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMacdonaldHDV, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Teeandtee

I appreciate you took the time to post a review on line, thank you. Great to read you enjoyed your stay with us. Our new breakfast offering has been received well and the carrot and ginger sausage is a great alternative for vegetarians (and those feeling guilty I guess).

Our sister hotel over in Harrogate is a great venue also and would love to hear how we compare if you have time to mail me directly.

Best Regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

991 - 997 of 1,525 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

The interior décor of the hotel is beautiful. There is a comfy area for having coffee, as well as a small bar and a bistro restaurant. We booked a standard room, and to be honest I don't think you would really need an upgrade from this at all. The TV in the room was huge and there was a Nespresso machine (complimentary use) as well as the usual tea facilities and mini bar. The bathroom is worth a mention too, as the power shower was fantastic and the underfloor heating was very cosy.

The biggest plus about the hotel was the level of service. First class. We arrived early and our room was not ready, but I was offered another room to change in. Also, the reception staff made a restaurant booking for us (down the road at Delrio's - thoroughly recommend). All the staff that we came across were friendly and extremely polite. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CIDLincoln_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMacdonaldHDV, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear CIDLincoln_Uk

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback. Glad you had a great stay, the showers are pretty amazing, like getting a massage after a hard day.

Excellent to read that you plan to return, our website always have the lowest rates and offers so make sure to check this out.

Best Regards

David Macdonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had originally booked to stay at the Greys Court, York but not long after checking in at the Greys we checked out. Not what we expected and nowhere near worth the high price tag. We quickly found the De Vin on trip adviser and called and reserved a room. I m so glad we found this place, lovely rooms, very comfortable and cosy, great bed, great pillows everything you need in a quality hotel room. The young brown haired girl on reception was so helpful and friendly. Only downside was we could not stay for a second night as hotel was fully booked. Would recommend this hotel and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt31212013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMacdonaldHDV, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Mat31212013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am glad the team looked after you, I trust the rest of your stay in York was as positive as your stay with us.

Please get in touch direct if you come back to York for another weekend break.

Kind regards

David Macdonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

As Suzie Sweetcorn is a lass from this neighbourhood ,it seemed only reet and proper that she booked it. Mad traffic in York and cyclists abound . On the main street so pulling in with your stretch limo may be difficult. We had to enter the car park via the exit as the entrance was blocked by a delivery van. As a northern lad I find it strange to have to pay to park in thehotel grounds. This madness is moving north as we speak. Ten pounds. I suppose I could have rode the tandem from Newcastle or used the enemy British Rail. Anyway it was all very nice. A bit dark. Mood lighting can mask a multitude of shortcomings. My eyesight failings were substituted at half time by hawk eye Sweetcorn. Less relaxed than me she scours for fault. Illness I call it.Apparently not god enough for a four star. Hot tap dripping is mentally torturing .. Are we to share a flannel ? Where are the heating controls ? As we were on the ground floor , the opened sash window resulted in sleeping with one eye open in case the Queens intruder popped in. No drinking water and imposssible to read by artificial bedside table lamp. Comfy bed and mmmmm Egyptian linnen. Slept like Moses on the Nile. Pleasant staff and then came breakfast. Fantastic menu and spread. Pricey but hey you realize style is having sauce bottles on the table is now fashionable. Heinz and Colemans without a crusty top. Tastey and probably one of the best breakfasts I have had. Sweetcorn had a moan about her granola slice but it kept her quiet for two minutes. We intend to return for an evening meal sometime so she must be happy under all of those grumbles.

Room Tip: Get above the ground floor to open a window as it is heated for the elderly !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BPasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMacdonaldHDV, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear BPasta

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of the hotel. It’s always a pleasure to welcome back locals. Glad you enjoyed your stay (sorry about the dripping tap, I have had every room checked to ensure this is not repeated). All our bedrooms have full air conditioning which controls the heating and cooling of the room; sorry you found the room too warm.

Its great to read your positive feedback about breakfast and the team, if you could email us with your partners feedback on the granola bars I would be interested to know.

Many Thanks

David Macdonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in the moet suite and it was fantastic. The room is stunning! It's great laying in the bath watching tv! The staff were friendly and couldn't help you enough. Would love to stay again

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMacdonaldHDV, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear David P

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Great to read you enjoyed the Moet Suite, those 55 inch plasma's turn having a bath a whole new experience. Glad to read you are thinking of coming again, looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

David Macdonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Have to preview this with the fact that my wife and I are big HDV and Malmaison fans, I just wish they did a loyalty card
Stayed at HDV York for the second time and again, no complaints, just observations. We took a suite which was in the new part of the hotel - although it was very well appointed, absolutely huge and well appointed, it was surprisingly dark with only two smallish windows and, for the first half hour or so couldn't find the switch for the lights for the bathroom area (it's by the bed which is not intuitive but quite a good idea if you think about it).
The bar, lounges and restaurant are all in the typical HDV style and the service and food consistently good. An extensive spirits choice and huge wine list can lead to a higher than expected bar bill - be careful!
The location just outside the city walls and within walking distance of the racecourse is ideal but on site parking should be included in the room price (charged at £5 per night) and try to avoid parking under the trees - loads of birds and the associated problems.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel, some road noise on a weekday morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InspectorInspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMacdonaldHDV, Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear InspectorInspector

Thank you for the feedback and glad you had a great stay. Sorry about the birds, time to prune the trees back again once nesting season is finished. Great to read you are a fan of the brand. Look out for our HDV @ St Andrews opening next year.

Best Regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Wonderfully friendly service, particularly the lovely lady with the dark hair - nothing was too much trouble. Beautiful bar. Shame I couldn't connect my ipod to the Bose speakers in the suite, but a minor quibble. Will definitely stay at other Hotel du Vin establishments in future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rakaluisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,387 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 47 in York
1,384 reviews
1.6 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.8 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin York

Address: 89 The Mount, York YO24 1AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: $122 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin York 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin & Bistro York is located in the tranquil area known as The Mount, close to the city's historic centre. This beautiful hotel in York city centre is housed within a Grade II-listed building that dates back to the early 19th century. Formerly a private home and an orphanage, the hotel houses 44 stylish bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and private dining rooms, along with a terrace, courtyard and inner forum for alfresco dining. York is a historic and beautiful city, believed to date back from Roman times. York is the county town of Yorkshire, perfect for a cultural getaway or a romantic weekend break that will inspire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel du Vin York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing