We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel du Vin York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Vin York
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

I visited the hotel at the beginning of September with my mother for 2 nights . Having had a poor experience in another hotel in York , this could not have been more different , from the greeting in reception on arrival to the bar staff , the hotel has a contemporary feel set in a old workhouse oozing character often lacking in many run of the mill hotels . Our standard twin room was of a high standard fabulous shower huge bath fresh milk in the fridge and a free newspaper left outside our door in the morning , breakfast was lovely . On our second night we ate in the restaurant which has a cosy atmosphere the staff where very attentive and the food was of a good standard and the wine recommendation was perfect off the extensive wine menu . My only complaint was that the tv was too low to see all of the screen when in bed I passed this on to the reception , they were please with feed back and told me that the tv was new last week and that they would get someone to have a look at it . I would recommend the hotel to anyone wanting to feel like a welcomed individual !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    444
    136
    51
    17
See reviews for
132
927
18
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night, and moved here directly on from the hotel Du Vin in Harrogate. As part of the same group both hotels obviously had a similar style and feel, but this hotel was much better managed than the Harrogate hotel. If anything staying here emphasised just how bad the Harrogate hotel was. Te bar here was better managed but particularly the restaurant here was far superior. The food was much better cooked and presented and the service was like chalk and cheese. Our meal here was a pleasure and it just made us appreciate how poor Harrogate had been. This hotel is in a excellent position, about a 5 minute walk to the city walls. There is an excellent (free) car park unlike Harrogate which cost a tenner! As I mentioned the staff here are well managed and seem to appreciate that service is key to a good experience. Also the breakfast here was really good and well served unlike Harrogate, where they seemed to be unable to cope. When you consider this is a group and both hotels are so close you would expect a similar experience. The group management need to g get a grip and sort it out! Anyway I would recommend the Hotel Du Vin York. Stay in York and visit Harrogate, if you had the opportunity you would live in Harrogate and vist York! But as a visitor I would do the opposite. By the way York was great! Ver clean, very interesting and the people were really friendly. Although it did get a bit lairy later around 6pm when the stag and hen crowd started to let rip. there were lots of police and door men around, but generally the city is fantastic, everyone should visit.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brendan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tideswell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

My boyfriend booked this hotel as a surprise for my birthday, absolutely luved the spa facilities, could have stayed there all day. Nice clean rooms and the bed was very comfy. Very well apointed for York. The only down side was the carpark fee which I would have thought would have come free with the cost of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0WHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Everytime I visit York, I always leave a piece of my heart there. Such a beautiful city! I've stayed in many hotels over the years, but wanted to try something different this time. And in all honesty, the idea of a freestanding roll top bath sold it to me!
We booked a superior room with dinner, and it couldn't be faulted. Bright, clean and spacious. And the bathroom, WOW! Monsoon shower, under floor heating and of course, the bath. Tea and coffee facilities were a nice touch.
Dinner was superb, the Chateaubriand was perfectly cooked to our liking and impressed my partner who is an avid steak fan. The bar area and Cigar Shack were the perfect places to retire with a glass of wine (or several as the case may be!). My only slight grumble was that the bar prices were rather expensive, but not extortionate.
Owen, the young man on reception, was brilliant from check in to check out. Working in hospitality myself, I appreciate a helpful smiling face when I'm on the other side of the desk!
Travelled via train, only around 10 mins from the station and 15 mins from the centre.

Fabulous stay, we will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FidgetGem87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Initially stayed here for work, but then returned for a Christmas Weekend with my boyfriend.
The atmosphere is cosy, the food obviously delicious, the wine list extensive, but the most touching is the service.

My boyfriend booked the hotel as a treat so I contacted the hotel separately asking to put champagne in the room with a selection of chocolates - they took up the challenge going that extra mile to make sure it was a surprise, and that I could pay for it separately in advance. (they even trekked around town looking for our chocolate favourites to add to the experience.) Not enough of this attitude left in the world. Thank you!

Room Tip: I loved my room in the new building with my bathroom on the mezanine, but the room in the old buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingQuallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Having had great experiences at Hotel du Vin in Harrogate, we opted to use the York venue for a stay over after a friends wedding.
We stayed in the Veuve Cliquot suite, which I must say was fantastic. Very well apointed huge room with a bathroom I could only dream of having at home.
If Hotel du Vin had spa facilities to accompany their stylish hotels, I would never look at an alternative!!!

Room Tip: See if you can get a complimentary upgrade to a suite! If not, just pay the extra!!! Its well worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePriestleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Very nice place - 15 mins walk to city centre, clean and nice rooms and bar areas, Staff need to be more tentative! Pouring down and they couldn't lend me a brolly! One issue is the car parking fee, whilst being no scrooge £10 a day is bordering on day light robbery considering the hotel car park is so large - so i don't see the limited parking being an excuse!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank measl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
1.6 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.1 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin York

Property: Hotel du Vin York
Address: 89 The Mount, York YO24 1AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin York 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin & Bistro York is located in the tranquil area known as The Mount, close to the city's historic centre. This beautiful hotel in York city centre is housed within a Grade II-listed building that dates back to the early 19th century. Formerly a private home and an orphanage, the hotel houses 44 stylish bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and private dining rooms, along with a terrace, courtyard and inner forum for alfresco dining. York is a historic and beautiful city, believed to date back from Roman times. York is the county town of Yorkshire, perfect for a cultural getaway or a romantic weekend break that will inspire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel du Vin York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing