We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms at a reasonable price”
Review of Hotel du Vin York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel du Vin York
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights at the end of June. The rooms are all very nice, and all are spotless. There is a wonderful courtyard area that can be covered if the weather is not so good. The bar and restaurant can be a little bit pricey, but the quality is excellent. It is a 15 minute walk into the centre and 10 minute walk from the train station. The only downside is that the rooms are starting to look ready for redecoration

All this for little more than a premier inn, I know where I'd rather stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uncle_Shrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,062 - 1,068 of 1,534 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stopped here over the weekend to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary ( should have been cyprus but that's another story).Our overall experience was very good but as a previous reviewer has pointed out the drinks are quite expensive ( 2 x small bottles of Vedett larger £4.50 each ), with no draft beers/lagers.

On the Sunday evening we choose the sirlion steak which was cooked to perfection and our compliments were passed to the chef.The bistro was very quite at the time of us taking our meal (7.00pm) and the staff were very attentive ( thanks Tom ). We were also presented with a small cake which we didn't expect and was a nice touch.Yes the prices are a liittle on the top side but apart from that we had an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClydeB1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We booked a weekend away to celebrate our wedding anniversary (leaving our toddler with Grandma and Grandad). We originally booked a standard room but upon arrival found we'd been upgraded to the De Trafford Junior suite. It was fabulous! I loved the monsoon shower and the room was incredibly quiet...no traffic noise or doors slamming etc. Also with all curtains shut the room was a blackout which was perfect. ALL Staff were incredibly polite, made conversation and held doors open for us. We had booked dinner in the bistro and were given a quiet corner table which was a bit dark to read menu. They were very busy so we had a little wait between courses but we really didn't mind and our waiter was very apologetic. The food was delicious and we could not fault the bistro staff at all. We also enjoyed breakfast the next day and were pleasantly surprised with the end bill. We were lucky with the weather and recommend the York Castle Museum. Looking forward to staying at Hotel Du Vin, York again. Thank you :-)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjp2000uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Don't get me wrong, this is a lovely hotel. Spotlessly clean. Delightful room. Well located 15 minutes walk from the City Centre, and 10 minutes easy walk from the train station. My wife & I stayed on a Monday night, and I suspect we got a bit of a backlash from a busy weekend (possibly a big wedding???). It's those first impression things that are so important. We arrived at midday. I wasn't particularly bothered if the room wasn't ready, as all I wanted to do was check in and leave the one piece of luggage we had. The receptionist repeated over and over again that the hotel was closed. What did that mean? We had a reservation. we did manage to check in, and leave the bag. When my wife wanted to use their rest room, the receptionist again said the hotel was closed. Anyway, we spent the rest of the day in the City, and ate out in a restaurant rather than the hotel. No attempt was made to encourage us to use their bistro. When we returned at 9.45pm, we decided to have a drink in the bar. £18 for a glass of red wine & small glass of champagne, so not cheap. However, the member of staff behind the bar was a total disgrace. No meet and greet. No conversation whatsoever. After serving us (we were the only people in the bar) he was forcing glasses in the dishwasher, breaking a glass in the process, continually slamming everything around, pulling full binliners passed us. Again, it must have been the mess from the night before that had been left for him to clean up, and he clearly wasn't happy. He then turned the music and lights down. My wife asked if he was closing. "Just winding down" was the reply. Anothewr member of staff, the Portuguese night porter, turned everything back up again as other guests in an adjoining room complained. And what a difference. He was exactly as a member of staff should be. So that is the negatives over. Everything else was brilliant. Staff could not have been more apologetic for the let down caused by their colleagues. The breakfast was extremely good, as was the service. So would I go back. Yes, of course I would. This is a very good hotel, no doubt about it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CIM15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Situated in the heart of York, the Hotel du Vin is, I believe, part of the same chain as the Malmaison and certainly shares the friendly ethos of the larger hotels.

Staff were very friendly and helpful and the ambience very peaceful and refined, with a beautiful wine cellar and a grand staircase.

The place is very well run with a big chain luxury feel and yet it also feels like it's a family run business where everyone cares about the guest's every need.

A great place to stay and highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnnythirkell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great location with parking at rear -£10 per night - lovely room with a balcony, although no view from balcony, it was lovely to sit out when we returned to our room. Bathroom was top class and the towels and amenities were excellent. Breakfast was very good and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzy64_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Lovely staff very helpful , rooms a bit small and dark . But they got everything u need .
Bit pricey but food is lovely ,
I'd stay again but not in same room !! They offer great weekend deals with supper so keep eye out for them

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobby V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,433 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.1 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin York

Address: 89 The Mount, York YO24 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: $120 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin York 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin & Bistro York is located in the tranquil area known as The Mount, close to the city's historic centre. This beautiful hotel in York city centre is housed within a Grade II-listed building that dates back to the early 19th century. Formerly a private home and an orphanage, the hotel houses 44 stylish bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and private dining rooms, along with a terrace, courtyard and inner forum for alfresco dining. York is a historic and beautiful city, believed to date back from Roman times. York is the county town of Yorkshire, perfect for a cultural getaway or a romantic weekend break that will inspire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Otel, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel du Vin York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing