We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class!”
Review of Hotel du Vin York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Vin York
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2012

An overnight stay at the Hotel du Vin, York, booked at 24 hours notice after a week in the N Yorks Moors, provided some much needed luxury and comfort. We had La Grande Dame - a suite room in the attic. Quiet, everything you could need, 8' bed, twin rain showers + a roll top bath - but NO plug near the mirror to use the hairdyer. The design of the room - colour scheme, decor, furnishings - was excellent and a great choice.
Dinner in the Bistro was very good. Plenty of choice, sensible sized portions and first class, friendly service.
The only niggle was the £10 car parking charge, which was swiftly taken off when I pointed to the price of the suite, and said I did not think at the rack rate it was appropriate to charge for parking.
All in all, would go back there at any time to Hotel du Vin. York is a beautiful city and it was a pleasure to re-discover it after many years.

Room Tip: For that special visit La Grande Dame is worth considering.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontysMum72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,162 - 1,168 of 1,534 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed two nights mid-week on a special B&B rate booked online. Room was stylish with very comfortable bed and good room facilities and excellent bathroom with monsoon shower.Breakfast was excellent with good cooked selection to order. We ate dinner one night which was not inexpemsive but well cooked, plentiful and well served, there is a "house bisrto menu " used throughout Hotel du Vin hotels which is in our experience consistent and well planned. The concentration on friendly efficient service is a hallmark of this chain. From our arrival,they sorted out potential parking problem and on leaving gave us a set of directions to our next port of call with an interesting detour on route, which we had casually mentioned the night before. It was in an envelope and handed to us on departure: very thoughtful! Hotel du Vin is becoming our favourite hotel chain in the U.K due to the all round excellence of the product.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lawmanglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Went to the Hotel Du Vin York for my wife's birthday , upgraded to a superior room with DBB rate. Room was amazing and loved the bath at the bottom of the bed. The evening meal at the hotel was lovely and staying on a Monday night made for the place being nice and quiet. The only issue was the service charge on the evening meal which was automatically added. It was a short walk into the centre of York and there was no issues for parking. Definitely worth considering if your visiting York and have a special occasion

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stay in hotel du vin chains regularly, and in most of them.

The new extension they have built contains rooms that are tiny, much smaller than a premier inn, which for a higher spec hotel is not great, couldn't stand under the shower head either, think it was made for someone about 5'6"

The main hotel and service was normal great hotel du vin, as expected. But the new rooms are a real let down.
Upgraded to a suite at extra cost, as it was ridiculous.
Wouldn't stay at York HDV again

Room Tip: Don't stay in the extension.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamieandthemagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed at the Hotel Du Vin in York for two nights .... We really enjoyed our stay ... the room was small but had everything you could possibly want ... tea making fascilities ... nespresso machine excellent .... fridge with free milk ... also a selection of drinks with price list .... nice sized tv and plenty of space for clothes ... Lovely bathroom .with lovely complimentary hair and shower products extra nice touch to be told use them or feel free to take them home with you .

We had breakfast and evening meals in the hotel ..... all meals were superb ... well presented and piping hot

the staff we found were all helpful and polite .

Fab time and would without doubt stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rubysh0es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed in the York Hotel du Vin for one night in early September, to break up a long journey and have a day sightseeing in York.

Some thoughts:
- Location pretty good. A 10 minute walk from the old City. Neighbourhood where the hotel was felt both safe and busy at all times.
- The room was very nice. Small, but perfectly formed. Bathroom ample in size with nice free products. Bed was super comfortable. TV a tiny bit small.
- Breakfast was good but took a long time to arrive. We were told 'everyone has come down at once' - but I thought they'd probably anticipate a rush on breakfast at about 9am for non-business types.
- Hotel let us check in 2 hours early with no fuss at all.
- Parking costs £10 extra despite there seeming to be ample parking out back for guests. Would have thought a 'luxury' hotel would have thrown in free car-parking, particularly when it is self-park and onsite.

Overall though, very good indeed. Parking and breakfast the only two reasons why it doesn't get a 5 out of 5.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonOfEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

A otherwise excellent experience spoiled by an omelette and bacon which were black on the underside. This was my wifes experience this hotel. The chef did apologize but did not offer to cook another breakfast. As the breakfast was included in our prepaid package at this hotel there was no offer from the hotel to take trhe cost of the breakfast from our bill. However they could have offered to reduce other charges (eg Parking) to cover the cost of the ruined breakfast. This was not forthcoming and I have been unable to get any response from emails to the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,433 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.1 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin York

Address: 89 The Mount, York YO24 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: $120 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin York 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin & Bistro York is located in the tranquil area known as The Mount, close to the city's historic centre. This beautiful hotel in York city centre is housed within a Grade II-listed building that dates back to the early 19th century. Formerly a private home and an orphanage, the hotel houses 44 stylish bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and private dining rooms, along with a terrace, courtyard and inner forum for alfresco dining. York is a historic and beautiful city, believed to date back from Roman times. York is the county town of Yorkshire, perfect for a cultural getaway or a romantic weekend break that will inspire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Otel, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel du Vin York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing