We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Treat”
Review of Hotel du Vin York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel du Vin York
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed at the Hotel Dun Vin for one night as a surprise Anniversary treat in August. There were some really good packages on offer so we decided to upgrade and stayed in the Verve Clique Suite.
The hotel was really easy to get to and leave without having to enter the town centre, ring roads etc and had a large car park (even though this was charged at £10 per night which I thought was excessive considering the amount we had paid for our stay!)
The main hotel, reception, bat etc was in the old building but our room was in a small new block next door. The room was huge, mainly open plan with a huge comfortable bed, 'sitting room' area, two tv's, huge double shower and an 'open plan' bathroom with double sinks and old style bath (the toilet however did have its own room!) Loads of lovely hotel du vin toiletries, but the most impressive thing (according to my husband) was having a nespresso coffee maker in the room!
As part of the package we had a 3 course evening meal in the brasserie which was really good, and the breakfast the next morning was delicious (I had the home made waffles with smoked bacon and maple syrup!)
The hotel was about a 10 minute walk straight into town which was nice (especially after the huge breakfast we both ate)
All in all a great stay, lovely hotel, great staff, would definately return.

Room Tip: If you can, push the boat out and get a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilso40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,181 - 1,187 of 1,537 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here for a one night city break in York and wished we had booked longer now! As soon as you pull up to the hotel you can tell it looks very stylish and a little bit special. They warn you that there is only limited parking but we didn't have a problem and the car park seemed more than big enough, secure at the back of the hotel too.

As soon as we checked in we found the receptionist very friendly and helpful, she checked us in quickly and took us up to our room and showed us around. The room itself was fantastic, super kingsize bed, well stocked mini bar, flat screen TV and a bathroom bigger than our bedroom at home! Twin his and hers basins, roll top bath and large walk in shower.

It was only a 10 minute walk into the centre of York, we actually came back earlier so we could enjoy the room.

Room Tip: We picked a superior room and found it excellent value for money. It was on the front of the hotel a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hartlepool_Hanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We treated ourselves to a night here for our wedding anniversary on the dinner bed & breakfast deal. We were a bit worried about spending almost £200 on 1 night away but when we pulled in to the car park straight away we knew we had made the right decision. The hotel itself is beautiful, with little nooks & cute little rooms to sit & enjoy some peace & a glass of wine or two, even a little wooden cigar shack outside which was lovely to sit in & enjoy a glass of wine whilst it rained. The staff could not be more helpful, from the receptionist who checked us in, escorted us to our room & made us feel so welcome, to Daniel the semelier who talked animatedly with my husband about different wines, different areas they had visited & who recommended a hell of a bottle of wine to us!! The food was beyond amazing! Being on dinner bed & breakfast I was thinking that our meals would be from a seperate, cheaper less exciting manu than the one everyone else was looking at but I couldnt be more wrong. The menu was extensive, elegant & luxurious & the specials available were fantastic. Breakfast was again wonderful, such choice & again beautiful!! But the best part of our stay without a doubt was the room. It was pure luxury!! We had booked the mezanine room which was amazing, claw fot tub & monsoon shower on a balcony over looking the room, so luxurious & romantic!! We had such a wonderful night, so romantic, I just wish I had known about this hotel before I got married because I think this would have been our wedding night stay over!!

Room Tip: The standard rooms are lovely & very modern & spacious but for a touch of luxury the mezanin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chickyboo083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I booked this for my wife and I for our third wedding anniversary, following a recommendation from a friend. We were not disappointed. On arrival it's clear by the attention to detail in the public areas with fixtures and fittings that this is a hotel with class. The staff are super helpful of the like you don't normally get this side of the Atlantic. When the door to the room opened both of our jaws were on the floor. It was quite simply the best room I've stayed in the uk. Luxurious decadent and sumptuous. We had a roll top bath mounted on wood next to the bed, double sash windows overlooked the rear. The bath room was amazing. The bed was enormous, again very American and very comfortable. However having said all this about the room it's the finishing details that stand this hotel out as one of the very best. Fresh milk for the tea and coffee, nespresso machine, high end toiletries. The next time I go back to York I wouldnt even consider staying anywhere else. Worth every penny and more. The only problem is we have now been spoil by this magnificent property.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Superted1396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We finished our mini-UK tour of various hotels at the Hotel du vin in York, booking the deal from secret escapes so it was £89 for the night, breakfast included. Right from the off, we knew that this place was something special.

Service was fantastic - they just couldn't do enough for you, nothing was any trouble. Dinner was gorgeous. Whilst we did have an issue - my partner asked for a burger with no onions and recieved a burger covered in them - this was whisked away with a million apologies and he was promptly given a steak (for the price of the burger) in around 4 minutes. This was apparently the best steak of his life! Our waitress, Rhiannon, was absolutely wonderful.

After dinner, we retired to the heated cigar shack with liqueur coffees. It was the best night of our holiday.

The room was just lovely. It was just a standard room, but full of fab extras. Gorgeous monsoon shower, TV and DVD player, super fluffy bathrobes, gorgeous double bed on Egyptian cotton, a nespresso machine (we're real coffee drinkers and it was just so nice to get a real espresso instead of nescafe!).... I could go on, but you get the point.

It's not cheap, but if you want to be treated like a celebrity, this place is for you! Desperate to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mojiberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

For  someone that stays in a lot of hotels, I have to say I rarely come across one as cosy and friendly as Hotel Du Vin, York! Service is, as you would expect from a hotel of this standard and pricing, absolutely perfect, and all staff go out of their way to assist you.This is our second visit to this hotel  in the last four weeks  although we have stayed here previously over the years and we have always thoroughly enjoyed our stay,  in our opinion  Hotel Du Vin, York is one of our favourites, we will  undoubtedly be going back for longer on our next visit.  

Starting with the arrival everything is always laid back and relaxing and the reception staff are always truly friendly with a wonderful smile which makes any guest feel welcome.  

The location of the Hotel is wonderful, you can walk into York centre easily.

Staff were very obliging throughout our stay.  The  rooms in HDV York are all  luxurious. Our huge room  had everything you could wish for, lovely soft  furnishings, a very cosy bed and an enormous bathroom.

The bar area is small and has a wonderful cosy feeling with a good  selection of wines, spirits,  fantastic cocktails and of course a good selection of champagne. 

The food in the restaurant is exceptional!    They always seem to be  using the best of  produce from the land and the sea it was quite superbly done, tasty and perfectly cooked   but even more I thought the daily options for breakfast were great.  The staff seem to go that extra mile, service that genuinely comes from the heart.  all staff are happy and they all seem to be very passionate abut working for Hotel Du Vin.  Service is again always with a wonderful smile and I have to say a special mention about Claire who is so lovely!

David the manager has has made HDV York one of the best and  we are already planning our next visit! 
Thank you to him and all the team.

Room Tip: All the rooms we have stayed in are quite and the suites are fantastic, we think the hotel is a Gem!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank webcatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We booked in on York racing weekend. We booked direct rather than via an agency as they all told us it was fully booked.
We took the B&B&D deal as it was only £10 more than B&B.
Staff, bedroom, interiors and position were excellent. Dinner was not great and since York boasts so many restaurants we will next time go elsewhere for dinner. Breakfast was great though!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonthomson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 47 in York
1,439 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 47 in York
2,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin York

Address: 89 The Mount, York YO24 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: $121 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin York 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin & Bistro York is located in the tranquil area known as The Mount, close to the city's historic centre. This beautiful hotel in York city centre is housed within a Grade II-listed building that dates back to the early 19th century. Formerly a private home and an orphanage, the hotel houses 44 stylish bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and private dining rooms, along with a terrace, courtyard and inner forum for alfresco dining. York is a historic and beautiful city, believed to date back from Roman times. York is the county town of Yorkshire, perfect for a cultural getaway or a romantic weekend break that will inspire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel du Vin York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing