We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of a toasted teacake”
Review of Danish Kitchen - CLOSED

Danish Kitchen
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“In need of a toasted teacake”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Called in here at lunchtime. Slightly above average cafe, but compared to some of the delights in York it seems run of the mill. Pot of tea for two was fine, toasted teackaes were a delight. Atmosphere was okay. Toilets clean and upstairs. Tables were cleared fairly quickly so we had somewhere to sit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    6
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Busy, a little over-priced, don't like the service”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Visited at 1.30pm on a Saturday - it was very busy - people queuing for a seat, not sure why. A huge negative is that there are no menus on the tables, so once you've found a seat you need to then queue again at the counter and quickly make a decision (difficult for the person who's left at the table who gets what they're given, and impossible if you're dining alone!).
The food is pricey - nearly £6 for a jacket potato, which was a little brown and mushy in the middle and is served on a side plate with a tiny salad.
Once we'd finished we were then rudely asked to vacate the table as people were waiting, I told the waitress we would be ten minutes (I think after paying £30 for a mediocre lunch, served ona side plate, the least you can expect is to finish your conversation!). However, the watress's rudeness seemed to be catching as a woman waiting in the queue then rudely came over and said 'I thought you were going...we are waiting here for a table!'...I know this isn't the cafe's fault - but I have never been spoken to like this before by a fellow customer and I strongly suspect the waitress had something to do with this! The stubborn side of us wanted to go and order another drink - but seeing as the food and service was so crap we decided we didn't want to give them any more of our money!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RecliningBuddah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tranent, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“york visit”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

nice decor friendly staff. Very pricey didnt get much for your money be prepared to climb a lot of stairs if you want to use toilets they dont warn you bad if you have any walking difficulties

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Whilst having a lovely shopping day in York we came across this lovely Cafe/restaurant.
Glancing up and seeing the sign I assumed it was a shop selling kitchen equipment. How wrong can one be?
We fancied a sandwich but did not fancy the few on display. Spoke with the pleasant young woman behind the counter and she said we could order any combination we liked. We chose Brie and Salad. The results were freshly prepared Sandwiches in our choice of bread, very tasty and quite substantial.The tea came in a pot with plenty of hot water to top it up and the offer of more milk if needed.
Just a small point for anyone with mobility problems. The toilets are up a flight of stairs.
The layout of the room is good, there are not too many tables squeezed in.
All in all a very pleasant interlude in our day.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cally Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“An authentic find”
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

We stopped here for a much needs cuppa and was treated to a lovely strong cup of tea and fresh chocolate eclair. Highly recommended for resting your feet for a short while before continuing your tour of York!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JenLott81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Danish Kitchen also viewed

 
Gate Helmsley, York
Strensall, York
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing