We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
50 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Susan C
Fareham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location”
Reviewed May 15, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Apartment had everything we needed and was very comfortable. Great location, we would usually walk into York and get bus back. We also had two days at the races and it was great to be just a 5 minute walk away. Would highly recommend day trip out to the coast. Whitby and Bridlington were both just over an hour away and would recommend a visit to both. Whitby is very picturesque and Bridlington has a great beach. Our favourite dog friendly pub was the Blacksmith Arms just outside York which had a great carvery.

Date of stay: May 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 25, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Date of stay: February 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property was spacious and beautiful and we could take our dog - it was close to good dog walks and walking distance to town.
Liked least: Nothing. For a longer stay I would take my wok - but we managed perfectly without.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GertzesGo...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good location for dog walks!”
Reviewed June 19, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked here as it was one of the few places in York we could find that allowed dogs. Our black lab LOVED the Knavesmire field and woods surrounding the York racecourse. This is a very dog-friendly area, and "Heathcliff" made lots of friends every time we went out for a walk. The apt. is also very convenient for either walking into York (Micklegate Bar) or taking the bus. We did hear the neighbours, and they heard us (and our dog), which led to them calling the owner to complain. Also, the two couches in the apt. are too short to have someone comfortably sleep on them (hard to tell from the picture), so my teenage son and I ended up sharing a bed--which was not ideal. Other than that, it was a perfect pad to explore York for a week.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Neighbors
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turtleflo...
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Secret gem - loved every minute!”
Reviewed June 3, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I'm slightly reluctant to leave such a glowing review for this apartment as we visit York fairly regularly and I would hate for it to be booked up next time we want to stay here. But - it's only fair that I share...

We got amazingly lucky - we were going to York races at fairly short notice (2 weeks) and all accommodation was either full (booking.com said York was 85% full!) or ridiculously expensive for mediocre quality. What a relief to find this flat - the photos were promising and the price very competitive. Plus, it's only a 7 minute walk to the race course entrance. I have no idea why it wasn't already booked but am very glad it wasn't!

Alison was fantastic with pre-arrival communication, responding to every message very quickly and with very useful information. She also met us at the flat on arrival, showed us around and gave us some very useful tips for the weekend. One of which was a bar/restaurant recommendation, which has become our new favourite place!

The flat itself is brilliant - as good as if not better than the photos (not always the case!) and we have taken some interior design ideas away with us. Having two bathrooms AND the dressing room was fantastic, it meant that I could get ready for the races, with all that entails, in peace and we could keep our bags and various paraphernalia away from our restful bedroom.

The shower in the ensuite is powerful enough to easily rinse my long hair and was lovely and hot. The kitchen is fully stocked with pans, cutlery and crockery and we enjoyed making our own breakfast rather than having to go into town to hunt something down.

There is also a little terrace area where you could sit outside - we didn't take advantage of this as it was a bit chilly but it looks like a nice space for warmer days.

In terms of location - it's perfect for the races and also convenient for town. There's a bus stop right outside which takes you into the centre and a taxi ride is only about 7 pounds from Clifton St on a Saturday night if you miss the last bus. We also walked one evening, which took about half an hour and was very pleasant.

Overall we had an amazing weekend and being able to stay in this apartment definitely contributed to our York experience. Thank you, Alison!

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia M
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Homely and comfortable”
Reviewed May 19, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The apartment was lovely, clean and homely. It was in a great location, opposite the racecourse so great for walks with the dog. It was 10 mins walk into the city centre. Would absolutely consider staying here again. We arrived to a welcome pack of bread, butter, milk and eggs, a lovely touch.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alison d
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real home from home”
Reviewed May 10, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Very comfortable apartment with everything you need to enjoy a stay in York. The welcome package is a nice touch and Alison the owner really does make you feel welcome. The decor is cosy and the apartment is situated in a lovely area with the added bonus of a parking space. It certainly provides good value for money. ..we will definitely stay again!

Date of stay: May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellie D
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and convenient”
Reviewed April 27, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The location opposite the racetrack with attractive walks was very appealing, and equally easy to get into the town centre and out of York. Close to the railway station. Handy off street parking.

Very friendly owner Alison provided a good welcome pack of eggs, milk, bread, butter, orange juice and tea and coffee. Good toiletries were a nice surprise. Sky TV and good wifi.

Very pleasant decor to a high standard, extremely clean and overall very comfortable.

We had a great stay here and would definitely book again.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and quality of furnishings and cleanliness
Liked least: No big pans in the kitchen and no extra bedding.
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.