We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“wonderful apartment, perfect location and the...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of 2 Talbot Court

Talbot Court Gardens are overlooked by the Minster
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Talbot Court Gardens are overlooked by the Minster
17th century courtyard on your doorstep Location ! Location ! Location !
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Talbot Court Gardens are overlooked by the Minster
17th century courtyard on your doorstep
Location ! Location ! Location !
View outside your bedroom window
Medieval courtyard inside the gates
Gardens steeped in history
Through the Keyhole !
Secure Gated Entrance
Old meets New
Half-timbered Buildings in The Courtyard
Entrance off Low Petergate
Entrance to Your Apartment
A Warm Welcome Awaits You
Travertine-tiled Bathroom with bath & power shower
Stylish Bedroom Interior
High Quality Bedroom Furnishings
Luxuriously appointed king-sized bedroom
Such a cosy bedroom !
Your garden view of the Minster
History in your Own Backyard
Minster View from your Landing Window
Minster Song School
Do you recognise this ?
A Haven of Tranquility in the Heart of The Historic City
Communal Gardens
A Bedroom with a View !
Well- equipped kitchen
Your Home from Home
Dining Area & Entertainment
Comfortable & roomy lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kaththemo...
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“wonderful apartment, perfect location and the most welcoming owners ever.”
Reviewed December 30, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

My OH and I stayed here for Christmas week and we couldn't have picked a better place. Situated in the city centre with fabulous views of the Minster and Trinity Church and a large, well maintained garden for residents, it is ideally placed for the everything York has to offer. The apartment is beautifully clean, tastefully decorated and furnished and the facilities/equipment are all you could need for a great holiday. The owners went above and beyond to make us feel welcome, providing a twinkly Christmas tree, chocolates and cakes and a bottle of bubbly on arrival. Tea coffee, sugar and milk were laid on too, as was breakfast for the next day. We are regular visitors to York and having stayed in a number of places there, this is our all out number one choice. The secured parking provided gave us peace of mind and was within a minute or so walk of the apartment.
During our stay we were very sad to see that some parts of York suffered serious flooding. This had no impact on our enjoyment of the holiday and everyone we met remained friendly and festive. On leaving the owners surprised us yet again by providing a clear map showing us which route to take to avoid the flooded roads, which made everything so much easier.
In summary, we can highly recommend this apartment to anyone thinking of holidaying in York.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Absolutely everything!
Liked least: Nothing to dislike at all
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 31, 2015
Thank you for your wonderful review - it's one of the best we've ever had ! We're so pleased that you liked our apartment and enjoyed your stay in York over Christmas. We're delighted that you appreciated the little personal touches and that it was a memorable Festive Break for you. We hope you'll visit us again soon. Best wishes from Stephen & Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda C
1 review
“A very nice modern apartment in a fantastic location.”
Reviewed December 4, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

A most enjoyable stay in a fantastic location within the centre of York, with secure parking provided. The owner is very friendly and helpful and they have thought of everything to make your stay a memorable one.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 9, 2015
We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay. Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again very soon! Best wishes from Stephen & Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooper865
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent accommodation”
Reviewed November 18, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

What a gem to find in the centre of York! A delightful apartment, beautifully equipped with very welcome touches - scones with jam and cream, wine and chocolates. We were made very welcome by Stephen and will not hesitate to stay in Talbot Court again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The situation
Liked least: Nothing - all was great
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 9, 2015
Thank you for your generous review. We're delighted that you appreciated the personal touches and had an enjoyable stay in our apartment and look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes from Stephen & Christine""
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E
Wem, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic well equipped apartment in the heart of York, with a warm welcome waiting”
Reviewed October 31, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This jem of an apartment had every thing we needed for our time away. From the moment we parked in the secure car park we felt welcome, as Christine met us and pointed out a few places of interest as we walked to the apartment. The apartment itself was stunning! With views of the Minster from the private gardens as well as the lounge, considering your so close to the hustle and bustle of York it really is very peace full. It was well laid out and well equipped and all the little personal touches the owners provide made us feel welcomed and at home. So nice to open the windows on Sunday morn and listen to the Minster bells before heading out to enjoy this wonderful city

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Felling secure while been in the heart of a new city
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 15, 2015
Thank you for your generous comments. We're delighted that you appreciated the personal touches and had an enjoyable stay in our apartment. Best wishes from Stephen & Christine"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspins
Dorchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed October 14, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Our stay at Talbot Court was delightful. The apartment is perfectly situated for a visit to York. It is immaculate, beautifully appointed and fully equipped. Stephen and Christine enhanced our stay in so many ways, no detail was overlooked in making our trip especially comfortable. It was a real home from home.
We are planning to visit York next Spring and would love to stay at Talbot Court again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2015
Thank you for your generous comments. We are delighted that you liked the apartment & the location. We look forward to seeing you again in the Spring ! Best wishes from Stephen & Christine.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collette...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fabulous weekend at Talbot Court”
Reviewed September 18, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This apartment is immaculate. Everything you need for a comfortable weekend away is provided. The apartment is in a prime location, set back off a lovely pedestrianized street and is accessed via a fobbed gate. It is close to all the main attractions that York has to offer. The owner, Stephen was there to welcome us on our arrival and showed us around the apartment. He provided us with lots of information that he thought would be useful to us. Breakfast was provided for our first morning. There was a choice of cereals, croissants, butter, jam, tea, coffee, milk etc. There was also some fresh scones, chocolates and a bottle of prosecco left in the fridge!!!!! I thought this was a really nice touch. Me and my husband had an excellent weekend in York and when we return I will definitely try to book this apartment again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 21, 2015
Thank you for sparing the time to post a review for us.We're so pleased that you enjoyed York & delighted that you liked our apartment. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.Best Wishes Stephen & Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen B
2 reviews
“Home from home”
Reviewed September 14, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The owner Steve not only gave a warm welcome at the apartment car park but helped with cases into the apartment, the apartment was excellent having everything you could want or need (even a iPhone charger), but more importantly we found it spotlessly clean.
The position of the apartment could not be better being literally 5 minutes from the Minister, Shambles etc, and lots of excellent restaurants. We will go back.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2015
Many thanks for your generous review.We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay in York & appreciated the personal touch on arrival.We hope to see you again soon. Best wishes from Stephen & Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing