We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of 2 Talbot Court

Talbot Court Gardens are overlooked by the Minster
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Talbot Court Gardens are overlooked by the Minster
17th century courtyard on your doorstep Location ! Location ! Location !
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Talbot Court Gardens are overlooked by the Minster
17th century courtyard on your doorstep
Location ! Location ! Location !
View outside your bedroom window
Medieval courtyard inside the gates
Gardens steeped in history
Through the Keyhole !
Secure Gated Entrance
Old meets New
Half-timbered Buildings in The Courtyard
Entrance off Low Petergate
Entrance to Your Apartment
A Warm Welcome Awaits You
Travertine-tiled Bathroom with bath & power shower
Stylish Bedroom Interior
High Quality Bedroom Furnishings
Luxuriously appointed king-sized bedroom
Such a cosy bedroom !
Your garden view of the Minster
History in your Own Backyard
Minster View from your Landing Window
Minster Song School
Do you recognise this ?
A Haven of Tranquility in the Heart of The Historic City
Communal Gardens
A Bedroom with a View !
Well- equipped kitchen
Your Home from Home
Dining Area & Entertainment
Comfortable & roomy lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stephen B
2 reviews
“Home from home”
Reviewed September 14, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The owner Steve not only gave a warm welcome at the apartment car park but helped with cases into the apartment, the apartment was excellent having everything you could want or need (even a iPhone charger), but more importantly we found it spotlessly clean.
The position of the apartment could not be better being literally 5 minutes from the Minister, Shambles etc, and lots of excellent restaurants. We will go back.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2015
Many thanks for your generous review.We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay in York & appreciated the personal touch on arrival.We hope to see you again soon. Best wishes from Stephen & Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldbrooki...
Bucks
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A five-star home from home!”
Reviewed September 11, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Having stayed in the owner's other property in this block - flat 4 - last year, we had no hesitation in booking flat 2 for a short break in York. And we were not disappointed!

Stephen the owner proactively contacted us on the day of arrival and we made arrangements to meet at the secure car park. It's SO good to be able to leave the car for a few days, knowing it's in a safe environment, and you really don't need it - the apartment is SO central and York and so easy to tour on foot. It takes literally 5 minutes to walk from the car park to the apartment. Stephen walked us there so he could hand over the keys in person.

In fact once you're in the apartment it's hard to believe you're right in the centre of a very busy city - no noise at all, it really does make for a relaxing getaway. You can sleep with the bedroom windows open and not be disturbed at all by usual city centre noise levels.

Stephen kindly showed us around the apartment and explained how everything worked. He and Christine really have thought of everything their guests could possibly need and the furnishings and decor are of an incredibly high standard - no detail is too small to have been missed, from the complimentary fresh croissants, scones, clotted team and prosecco (thank you!!) and tea/coffee and even a pint of fresh milk for a cuppa when you arrive, to bathrobes and slippers, wifi, beautiful colour co-ordination throughout and the 'rubber duck' theme in the bathroom!

The communal gardens are beautiful, a real sun trap and very peaceful.

You leave Talbot Court and step straight onto Low Petergate in the centre of York - look right and there's the Minster at the top of the street...literally a minute's walk and you're there. 3 or 4 minutes' walk and you're at the world famous Betty's tea rooms and just beyond that, the river Ouse and boarding points for either river cruises or open-top tourist bus routes. There is SO much to do that you could spend a week here and still not do it all...but you'd have five star accommodation to relax in every night!

On the day we left, although we needed to be out of the apartment by 11am Stephen very kindly allowed us to leave our car in the secure car park until 2pm so we could enjoy a few more hours in this beautiful city on an equally beautiful late summer's day.

Thank you Stephen and Christine for another fantastic stay, we've enjoyed it so much and can't wait to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern, well- equipped, luxurious but felt like a home from home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2015
Thank you for your fantastic review - it's one of the best we've ever had! We're so pleased that you had a comfortable stay in our No 2 apartment just as you did in No 4 on your earlier visit. We're delighted that you appreciated the little personal touches.We hope you'll visit us again very soon. Best wishes from Stephen & Christine & the Ducks!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 29, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Apartment facilities and location.
Liked least: Wish we had booked for longer
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2015
Many thanks for your kind review.We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay in York & appreciated the personal touch on arrival.We hope to see you again soon. Best wishes from Stephen & Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nicholas...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful, well appointed apartment.”
Reviewed August 19, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Me and my partner thoroughly enjoyed staying at 2 Talbot Court. Being advertised as central doesn't do it justice, all of York is literally at your doorstep. The apartment is beautifully furnished, spacious and very modern - a real home from home. We received a very warm welcome from Stephen on arrival and were pleasantly surprised to find an array of breakfast items and other treats laid out to help us settle into our holiday.
Everything was brilliant from the moment we arrived til the moment we left, can't ask for more than that.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The remarkably good location and all of the attention to detail throughout the apartment.
Liked least: My only regret is not staying longer...
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 20, 2015
We are delighted that you liked the apartment & enjoyed your fist visit to York. Thank you for your generous comments and for leaving us the Bettys Orange & Chocolate Biscuits and the wee 'thankyou' note. It was such a kind gesture and much appreciated! We look forward to seeing you again in the future! Best wishes from Stephen & Christine.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 27, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 28, 2015
We are delighted that you liked the apartment & had an enjoyable stay. Thank you for your generous comments and for the 'thankyou' bottle & chocs.Such a kind gesture ! We look forward to seeing you again very soon! Best wishes from Stephen & Christine.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 20, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The apartment itself, and the location
Liked least: It was all perfect
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 21, 2015
Many thanks for your kind review.We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay & appreciated the little personal touches.We hope to see you again soon. Best wishes from Stephen & Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York City, New York
Reviewed July 16, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden view from the apartment and the location
Liked least: That we were only there for a week
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2015
Many thanks for your generous comments and for our very first Trip Advisor Review for No 2 Talbot Court. We're delighted that you took advantage of the beautiful gardens and had an enjoyable birthday treat in York with your daughter.We're so pleased that we could help to make your stay a special occasion.Best wishes from Stephen & Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing