We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely tasting food”

Delrio's Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 881 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Delrio's Restaurant offers home-cooked Italian food with a strong Sardinian influence in a lively environment. Enjoy candle-lit dining in this atmospheric cellar restaurant located adjacent to the historic Micklegate Bar and just a few minutes walk from York railway station.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“lovely tasting food”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

went on a sunday night after booking by phone,atmosphere brilliant,food tasty i had carbonara it was the best 1 ive had in years,i was facing the kitchen and the two chefs i watched(1 with a beard other bald chap) they were very impressive to watch, they obviously know their stuff!! they seemed very passionate about their cooking and most of all very hygenic!!!we were very impressed,in fact we ate in the city 3 nights at different restaurants and this was by far my favourite for everything!! so thankyou to the irish lady(i think her name was susan) and her team it was a pleasure to dine at your restaurant.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,921 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,472
    292
    89
    34
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just like Mama used to make!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

If you like genuine Italian food, you must dine here, a group of us chose a wide selection of meals and all were fabulous. This is a family run business and the service was superb.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, great service”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Our first trip to York, and this was our first meal in the city. We phoned to book, thankfully! It was packed but the staff just got on with things - no fuss, no waiting for us. We were looking through the menu when Delrio himself came along and recommended meals to us. They were superb - as was the wine. An excellent start to the visit. Thanks a lot, folks.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Veronica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Italian Food”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Had not been to Delrio's for many years and feedback from friends was that the standard had gone down but I gave it a go and was pleased I did though there was one niggle. First the niggle. We were a group of 10 and had booked, we arrived on time and our table was ready but only 4 menus available between us which delayed ordering somewhat. The menu includes all the staples you would expect and some interesting other dishes. The specials board had a good selection. I had scallops as a starter perfectly cooked and delicious followed by squid ink linguine with crab and clams which was excellent. Everyone in our party enjoyed their meal. The basement setting with low ceilings and the walls and every flat surface crammed with Italian nicknacks together with tables fairly close together might feel a little claustrophobic for some though it didn't bother me in any way. The staff are friendly and cheerful. I will return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Milou65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I was last here in May 2011 and was glad to see that the food is still on top form.

Set within a basement the atmosphere is cosy and interesting with bare brick walls and coves and arches all adding to a fantastic atmosphere.

I had a starter of baby octopus followed by calves liver. Both dishes were superb and hit the spot. My wife had succulent Scottish mussel's followed by a fillet steak and a simple yet refreshing fruity creamy chees cake made by the head of house.

Overall, a great place for tasty food and good atmosphere

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mazandamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delrio's Restaurant also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Delrio's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing