We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food lively atmosphere great service”

Delrio's Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 881 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Delrio's Restaurant offers home-cooked Italian food with a strong Sardinian influence in a lively environment. Enjoy candle-lit dining in this atmospheric cellar restaurant located adjacent to the historic Micklegate Bar and just a few minutes walk from York railway station.
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely food lively atmosphere great service”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We dined here on a Sunday night on recommendation. The restaurant is tucked away down a flight of steps so not visible from the street. However we were reassured by the clinking of glasses and buzz of people having a good time as we descended. The decor is a throwback to places we used to love to hang out in as students in the seventies - in a good way! Rustic, chaotic, busy yet intimate, with clusters of chianti bottles dangling perilously! Lots of romantic tables for two tucked into little alcoves. We ordered two pasta dishes from the specials board - squid ink linguine with chilli, clams and crab, and tagliatelle with porcini mushrooms and truffle-infused creamy sauce. Both were absolutely delicious and portion size just right. Service was very friendly and efficient. We liked that iced tap water was offered automatically and kept topped up. We loved it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,921 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,472
    292
    89
    34
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Charming little Italian”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal at Delrios, the food and wine were wonderful especially the steak! The restaurant itself is in a fabulous location right by the city walls and the ibis that we were staying at but walking downstairs into the restaurant you feel like you could have been transported to Italy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amyloututu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford on Avon
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Italian with character”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

A basement restaurant that serves great food and with really good service. We could not fault it. Thank you.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Edw0rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Much better than expected !!!”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

After reading a lot of good reviews but also a few bad reviews, i booked Delrio's for Saturday night to celebrate our wedding anniversary. I am glad that i did. I asked for a "romantic" alcove - which is what they gave us.
The restaurant is downstairs just outside of Micklegate Gate. It is very rustic, and atmospheric with good decor. The service was attentive, friendly and quick. (if you see some reviews on tripadvisor, you would think that this was a different place). The food was excellent - and one of the best seafood linguine's i have ever eaten. At the end, the bill was very reasonable for such a good meal in lovely romantic surroundings. I would rate it highly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cdunn_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Superb italian”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

celebrated a friends wifes 50th birthday & it was excellent.The restaurant situated downstairs was very busy & the atmosphere was good, we were looked after by the waitress who couldnt do enough for us the food & drink were all top notch & the bill was around £260 for 8 adults which included a 10% service charge,great value for what we had,would highly recommend it for a great night out

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheHoptons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delrio's Restaurant also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Delrio's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing