We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”
Review of Masons Bar & Bistro - CLOSED

Masons Bar & Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: British, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The food and service were excellent. It was also very good value, I would recommend it to anyone. It is centrally located and easily located.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MARK H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    110
    29
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Lucky to get a table at short notice on a Friday evening. Our food was all very enjoyable, with the beer battered fish the best I have tasted in a long time. The srevice was attentive and friendly and overall it was good value for money.

Helpful?
Thank Rod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Nice meal”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Had a lovely meal here. Good cooking and attentive staff. Would definitely recommend. Was also good value.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank oldsuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Value, Lovely Food & Service”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We visited this restaurant for the first time during a recent trip to York and it is a gem, their burgers and fish & chips are simply delicious.
The staff are very attentive and it benefits from a central location in the town, I'd thoroughly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for good value food and excellent service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food, very reasonable prices”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The food is good quality here anyway, and especially so when you consider the very reasonable prices. I had a black and blue burger, others in my group had lamb skewers and a halloumi and mushroom burger. We were all very satisfied with the food, including the chips, which were excellent (big, crunchy on the outside, soft on the inside, not salty).

The drinks selection was also very good, I had a craft beer, other drinks were a Crabbie's alcoholic ginger beer and a earl grey and lavender tea.

All in all, I don't understand why this place always looks so empty, as it's great.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masons Bar & Bistro also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing