We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere - shame about the food!”
Review of Plunkets - CLOSED

Plunkets
Price range: $55 - $55
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Mexican
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
HERTS
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere - shame about the food!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Looked nice from the outside, decor was interesting and it was a good location. However food was dire. Edible..just. Almost take away standard but without take away prices. Carry on walking past....!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cottage37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    113
    50
    32
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Finally got round to visiting Plunkets after a few recommendations, and have to say that I cant see what all the fuss was about. The interior is great, nice traditional interior, but thats where the compliments end. The menu is confusing, with the choice being heavily weighted towards tex/mex cuisine. Throw in a further array of burgers, a few traditional english dishes, and you've got an idea of what your dealing with. I choose the loaded potato skins for a starter. Basically this consisted of a baked potato cut into 4 pieces, with a sizeable dollop of cheese on the top. It was a massive starter, with little imagination. Main course, I decided to go for the burritos. Portion size was considerably smaller this time round, in fact I had difficulty in locating the meat in one burrito (and there was only 2 on the plate) Accompanied by a portion of a kind of savoury rice, this was quite similar to that stuff that you microwave in a bag for 2 minutes, I was unimpressed to say the least. Its not cheap and its not worth it. Total let down, give this place a miss.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AWNTY2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great value for money”
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

me and my partner visited plunkets restaurant this weekend, we went at lunch time and for less than £9 we could choose form selected drinks and main meals, i ordered a soft drink and a steak sandwich with chips and salad, my partner ordered a pint of house larger (san Miguel) and lasagne chips and salad, when they arrived we were very pleasantly surprised with the portion size to start with and the food was very tasty also, i would recommend this for a tasty good value meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tonimariestaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“brilliant”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

went on a saturday night and had to wait half hor foe a table , which was no problem as there is a bar upstairs with an open fire and comfy sofas. On the wall are the Rolling Stones signitures , which we did nt expect. The food was gorgeous , my partner had the lamb and i had a massive burger , i did check it was beef !! thoroughly recommend

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Good Find”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Although I have visited York before this was the first time I had tried this restaurant and ended up dinning here twice during the week. Set in a beautiful old building with great atmosphere the menu is varied and the specials looked great value. The rib-eye was the best steak I have tasted in ages and the portions were generous but not excessive. The staff gave good service and were very friendly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plunkets also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
Bishopthorpe, York
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing