We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“When in York dining here is a must!”
Review of Oxo's Restaurant

Oxo's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Oxo's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 869 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $78
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Housed within the Mount Royale. Overlooking the English gardens is OXO'S on the Mount. Serving the best locally sourced ingredients cooked with Passion and Pride. York Where the streets are Gates The Gates are BarsAnd the Bars are Pubs
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“When in York dining here is a must!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Whilst visiting York for the weekend as part of a birthday celebration we booked into the Oxo's as a result of a random Google search...and oh what a find! Firstly the initial welcome was warm and friendly. Once shown to our table the service there on in continued to be efficient, helpful and again friendly. The choice on the menu was excellent and each of us commented that we could happily choose any of the meals. The food was absolutely delicious with not one complaint from our party (which is a rarity!). So please if you are ever in York please dine at Oxo's you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LED7474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    93
    22
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Definitely not cooking from a box!”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Having lost the great j bakers York has become a culinary area we have avoided except for le langhe in the centre.
We were given some respected advice we visited Oxo on a Thursday evening Confit of rabbit, ham Hock terrine which were both to a very high standard. Fabulous wine list with lots of choice and good mains followed. Lovely restaurant and great wine; front of house very professional.

Defiantly one for our list and would highly recommend it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank t38eat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“" Daddies Treat"”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

It was the first time we had eaten at Oxo's restaurant which was recommended to us by friends. The atmosphere was relaxed and the staff bent over backwards to make our experience a good one. We asked questions about what we wanted to order and every query was answered with friendliness and knowledge of the menu and local produce, which impressed us. The food was fantastic, so good in fact that a few of us had to try and share some dishes.
If l had to find something l would say that my lamb was slightly overcooked as l asked for rare, but as the rest of the dishes were excellent l did not complain, but would do so if it happened again. We will return 100% and are already recommending it to friends.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Food is outstanding”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Everything about this restaurant was excellent. The ambiance, staff, price and food were faultless. I have eaten in Michelin starred restaurants a few times and the meal we ate at Oxo's was of similar standard. Our 3 course meal for 2 including a bottle of wine was around £85-phenomenal value

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank saf51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Wonderful Evening”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Booked this restaurant as a result of Trip advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. The staff were so friendly and welcoming, our table was lovely and the restaurant itself had a great ambience. The menu was good but we both plumped for the specials and we enjoyed every morsel. A truly delightful evening, with gorgeous food and excellent service. We would definitely return if in the area again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oxo's Restaurant also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Oxo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing