We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of time & money.”

Russells of Coppergate
Ranked #317 of 874 Restaurants in York
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Waste of time & money.”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Visited back in June and to be honest waste of time and money. Food was poor, no atmosphere what so ever, the girl serving us was polite and prompt (as prompt as she could be). Won't be returning I'm afraid!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sassymarsh1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    135
    86
    83
    86
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shipston on Stour, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ok for quick roast lunch - not too pricey”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Quite pleasantly surprised. Thought we'd be ripped off but a good quality lunch for 4 of us. 3 choices of roast and lots of veg to select. Would definitely consider again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
194 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“What a Mistake”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

My wife and I had the unfortunate experience of having lunch at Russells on July 30th. The indifference of the waitress and manager should have given us a clue that we would have been better off just walking out. There were only two other people in the restaurant at around 1:45 p.m. and we were seated directly next to them. It did not make much sense to us but we could not request to change seats because the waitress did not come back for 15 minutes. My wife ordered a chicken caesar salad, it was delivered about 20 minutes later and she was finished before I even got my meal. The restaurant advertises that they have been in business for like 200 years and it looks appealing from the outside but the service and quality of food is extremely poor. My wife and I joke about Russells being the worse restaurant on our trip and recommend that you walk by to avoid such a bad experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimMaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent for vegetarians”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

They have two proper vegetarian options (a nut roast and a wellington). We had the mushrooms, cranberry & brie Wellington with vegetarian gravy. The Wellington was delicious and the buffet format gives you more choice over the roast potatoes and veg (which we really valued).

If you're booking for two ask for one of the alcoves with stain glass windows. These are very romantic and cozy.

Service was warm and friendly.

It's particularly nice to see an upmarket restaurant with a meat focus that never the less doesn't neglect vegetarians.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BarnabyDawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby uk
Level Contributor
63 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Visited Russell's on Saturday 16th August and had a lovely meal, me and the wife had a two course special mine with soup and the wife went with a pudding, my food was both hot and tasty plenty of meat on my plate and it was not over cooked !!! Not sure what some people expect but we were well looked after and when wife's pudding turned up Apple and Rhubarb covered in custard to die for... Keep it up Russell's this is one bloke who will ignore some of the comments below great place..

Helpful?
Thank 2063DS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Russells of Coppergate also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Russells of Coppergate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing