We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Old English Roast”

Russells of Coppergate
Ranked #317 of 874 Restaurants in York
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good Old English Roast”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Pleasant staff & surroundings. If you like a traditional carvery in while in York, this is the place to go

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SpudSpuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    135
    86
    83
    86
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Poor value”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We with my wife and two kids food was good, but I have to say it is very pricey and not value for money, not a really friendly dining experience either, I don't think I would return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jt_wilsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onchan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“what a disapointment”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

From the outside it looked very nice. We had walked past a lot of busy places, so decided to eat at Russels.

Oh dear.

At the reception desk, we waited 5 minutes before someone appeared. The waitress was dressed as though she was doing kitchen portering duties. The drinks selection was poor.

However, the worst thing was the rudeness of the woman behind the counter at the carvery. I asked for beef, and a bit of turkey. "You get one slice of each, and thats your lot". Gravy was slopped on the meat before you had a chance to put the veg on the plate. The peas were cold and the yorkshire pud looked and tasted like something I found on a building site.

It was a busy night in York. In Russels, I counded 23 tables, of which 19 were unoccupied.

AVOID.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OnchanOnchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very good for what it is”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I am genuinely surprised at the low rating this has on Trip Advisor. I have come here a number of times over the years. It is not gourmet cuisine, but then it doesn't set out to be. It serves good, basic roast dinners. The meat and roast potatoes are good quality and there is a range of vegetables. The plates could be a bit bigger to fit it all on. Only the Yorkshire puddings are a bit bland and dry. I think some reviewers here don't quite grasp the concept of a carvery and/or have slightly unrealistic expectations.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Johntimelord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mablethorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best dining experience”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

My boyfriend and I ate at this restaurant the other night, and it was the best dining experience I've ever had, and I even emailed Russell's afterwards to say how great it was again. The food was delicious, I had the salmon fishcake salad (recommend it) and my boyfriend had the carvery. The service was excellent, the waitress was extremely polite and lovely and seemed more than happy to go out of her way to make sure everything was perfect for us. The price for the value of the meal was happily paid, and although I live 2 1/2 hours from York, we will certainly be eating in this restaurant on our next visit to York.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bethy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Russells of Coppergate also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Russells of Coppergate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing