We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Restaurant for Fish Lovers”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Loch Fyne - York

Loch Fyne - York
Ranked #119 of 859 Restaurants in York
Price range: $51 - $81
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant for Fish Lovers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Very nice food with a vast variety of fish dishes to choose from. Prices are good to high but the chain often does on line voucher deals which give you greater value for money. Located on one of York's smaller streets to nowhere, it is unlikely that you will come across the place by chance but we'll worth a visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank York-58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    270
    123
    76
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

We were out celebrating a special birthday. My wife has to have gluten-free food & this restaurant were brilliant. They helped her with the correct choices & both our meals were of the highest quality. The staff were extremely friendly, helpful & our waiter couldn't do enough to help. We had a great evening & would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank SJ1186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsl
2 reviews
“Wonderful food and staff!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my husband decided to dine here for our wedding anniversary and could not have been more pleased! The food was wonderful and the staff were all friendly and the looked happy. We will definitely be returning there!! Keep up the good work loch fyne!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charlene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Burns night special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Overall the experience good as friends made the night fun. Table for 8 booked weeks earlier and a special request to be in the downstairs area, on arrival we were shown to the upstairs area where you couldn't hear the band and are out of the main buzz . The manager offered some excuse about being busier than expected but no effort to remedy the situation.
Walked passes the restaurant at 7pm and heard the bagpipes but we were booked in for 8.30pm and no sign of any Burns effort other than a small band at front of restaurant playing random songs (not burns) when we arrived.

Ate off the burns menu with scallops and Haggis, tasty but Haggis was the size of a beer mat and same thickness with 2 scallops. Not biggest starter I have ever had.
Mains of steak in whisky sauce was more sizeable and all cooked as requested.
The staff serving us were very helpful and removing some wine from the bill to make up for the error made it more palatable.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing Burns Night”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Having visited many times and always on a Burns Night at 7.30pm, our party of 11 were looking forward to an enjoyable Scottish Burns evening.
Our first courses arrived, minus 1, and the delay was so long, we had finished eating - to stop the food going cold - before it appeared. Unfortunately the same thing happened again with the main course. Puddings were better, although the cheese boards had cheese missing as 'they thought they were going to run out so couldn't put all three on the plate' we were told. Having said that, a plate appeared later with the three missing slices!
The waiting staff were very pleasant, and I can only assume that problems were occurring in the kitchen.
When we inquired when the Piper would be playing we were told he had played at 7pm and was due to return but hadn't! Although we were not charged for any of our drinks, we will certainly think twice before booking next year, as the Burns Night experience was nowhere near as good as previous years

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 357Mags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch Fyne - York also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Loch Fyne - York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing