We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice meal”

Wackers Fish and Chip Restaurant
Ranked #178 of 874 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Description: PLEASE NOTE: WACKERS RESTAURANT IN YORK IS A SOLE TRADER AND HAS NO CONNECTION WITH WACKERS IN SCARBOROUGH OR WACKERS IN HULL. We have a private car park at rear of restaurant. Space for up to 12 cars* Party bookings welcome. We can cater for up to 200 people and can offer exclusive service for all your party needs , including private hire after hours. If you would like to book a party please don't hesitate to call or email, and we will give you a comprehensive menu at very reasonable prices. Please note we are also fully licensed .Coach parties welcome. Feel free to come and try our delicious Teacakes along with a pot of Tea for the amazing price of £3.25 We have excellent facilities for you to use with all toilets on the ground floor. You may also wish to tell your coach driver that he or she is entitled to a 15% discount off his meal.* Wackers restaurant is fully air conditioned. Should this facility not be required throughout the winter months then we also are centrally heated to keep you nice and warm as you tuck into the nations favourite meal here at Wackers.* Special Dietary needs. Please ask at the till if you require a specially prepared meal for your own specific dietary needs. We will endeavour to give you the meal you require and if not, offer a suitable alternative.* Senior Citizens. We have two senior citizen specials. The first being priced at £6.25 which includes a small haddock and chips with tea or coffee. The second is priced at £7.25 and includes small haddock and chips with mushy peas, tea or coffee, and a slice of bread and butter.*Student Discount. If you are a Student and possess a Student Union card you are entitled to a 15% discount on your meal.* TakeAway Service. We also have a takeaway counter with the delicious taste of Wackers fish and chips on offer
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
420 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have a Hi-Life Dining Card where we get one meal free so decided to make use of it at Wackers. We ordered medium Haddock and Chips at £6.95 and I was glad I hadn't ordered a large one as I think I would have found the small one OK. It is quite a large restaurant although there weren't many people in when we dined. They do a Seniors meal for £5.95 for a small fish and chips including bread and butter and a drink.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vivEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    87
    34
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
446 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
“Traditional english fish and chips in York - easy to find”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I'm English and brought my Australian family here to experience 'real' english fish and chips and we weren't disappointed. The fish tasted really fresh and chips were perfect. Good selection on the menu for those who don't like fish too.

It's nice an easy to find. If you go to Stop 1 on the red bus tour (Exhibition Square) its along Gillysgate Road near there. About half way along on the left - so nice and central.

Does takeaway or you can sit in the restaurant. Its a old fashioned basic cafe style setting but nice enough to enjoy the AWESOME fish and chips.

If you want traditional English fish and chips, this is the place. Enjoy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JUDITHbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely food, nice staff”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Took a group of 41 kids with 3 other staff to York for a school trip. We booked pre in advance to eat our evening meal there. Came early to Wackers and they let us in early with no bother. After we gave our orders, the food came out really quickly to the kids. They loved the food and gobbled it all up.
Staff ordered other more substantial dishes. Mine in particular, fish with salad and curry sauce was divine. The best fish I had tasted in a long long time. Massive portions too, especially those with chips. Food was hot and very fresh.
Overall a great service and food. Would deffo recommend if you are after some cheap and cheerful grub.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank misiak1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
159 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Simple Buffet style with limited menu.”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Plain food, tasty but a bit greazy.good for a quick bite. Discount for senior citizens. I was the youngest at 53..! I Like this

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Koos V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, UK
Level Contributor
484 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Not so good this time”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I've eaten at Wackers (both in York and Scarborough) quite a few time.

Their food has always been good - including this time. However, their staff politeness and helpfulness left something to be desired.

We visited on a Friday lunch time. As usual the large restaurant was almost empty.

We ordered at the food service point. One of the party was on a Gluten Free (Coeliac) diet and the member of staff who served us didn't know what this was and gave the impression that she couldn't really be bothered either.

The interior of the restaurant is a little dated but the food - all three of us had Fish & Chips were hot and tasty and we enjoyed our meal.

Just a shame about the staff who had been so good in the past

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skeldergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wackers Fish and Chip Restaurant also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Wackers Fish and Chip Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing