We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing holiday let”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of 109 Nunnery Lane

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Camilla S
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing holiday let”
Reviewed July 21, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We booked a week stay at 109 Nunnery Lane leading up to our wedding.
We were met by Julie who thoroughly explained everything about the property and left us freshly baked florentines as a welcome gift which was amazing.
The property is immaculately furnished and Julie has put a lot of time and effort into making the space a home away from home - whether you are there for a weekend or a month you will definitely have everything that you need.
It is only a 5-10 minute walk into York city walls and around the corner from excellent cafes and shops on Bishopsthorpe road - a perfect location.
We would not hesitate to recommend this property to anyone. We had a fantastic stay. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 22, 2015
Many thanks for your review Camilla and so pleased it met your needs and enhanced your wedding celebrations.
Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneWalk...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed May 6, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Excellent property in terms of decor, cleanliness and location. Very friendly welcome from the owner including a homemade cake.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor and cleanliness and location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 7, 2015
Thank you - you were great guests, appreciated the tidy departure. Come back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin T
Hitchin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The perfect base for exploring York at your own pace!”
Reviewed May 4, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My wife and I, together with my mum and brother, stayed at 109 Nunnery Lane for a long weekend at the end of April 2015. We arrived Friday lunchtime and were met by Julie who gave us a quick run down on the apartment and left some freshly baked Florentines for us!

The apartment itself is beautifully appointed with an open plan kitchen/diner/living area on the ground floor, and then three bedrooms, one King Size and one single room on the first floor and a double room in the loft space, and in short has everything you could need for your stay.

The apartment is located at the very south end of Nunnery Lane, so is a 20 minute stroll or a 5 minute taxi ride from York station. The apartment itself is less than a minutes walk from Bishopthorpe Road (known locally as 'Bishy') which has a number of places to eat (I can recommend The Fisherman's Wife for your fish and chips) and shops including a Costcutter and a Sainsburys Local if you're planning on catering for yourselves.

As for the centre of York, a gentle stroll alongside the city wall and over the bridge will take you to Clifford's Tower in less than 10 minutes, and another 5 minutes walking beyond that will take you into York's historic centre and all it's attractions.

In short, we'd have no hesitation in recommending 109 Nunnery Lane to anyone looking for somewhere a little different to the run of the mill yet still convenient for exploring everything York has to offer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautifully appointed and a great location.
Liked least: The main bedroom overlooks Nunnery Lane so if you're bothered by street noise (especially on Friday/Saturday night) you may want to bag one of the other bedrooms.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B...
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A very tasteful haven of tranquility.”
Reviewed April 21, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
4
people found this review helpful

In the fascinating and exciting city of York with so much to see and do, 109 Nunnery Lane is a haven of tranquility! The tasteful decor and furnishings combine to create a calm , cosy and relaxing ambience.
Everything is of a very high standard - a well equipped kitchen, beautiful bathroom, attractive bedrooms with very comfortable beds. The sitting room is well equipped with TV, Wifi and DVD player; board games and books to suit a wide variety of tastes. Cleanliness throughout is of the highest standard.
The location is ideal - just outside the city walls on the south side with 3 delightful walking routes of 10 minutes to the very centre of York
A delightful find that enhanced our visit to York!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2015
Thanks for the lovely review David, and the useful notes you left at the house too. Do come and visit again, you will be more than welcome. Kind regards, Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane W
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful and cosy house plus super location”
Reviewed January 5, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Beautifully decorated, immaculate but - more than anything really cosy - house with extremely well equipped kitchen and a fantastic location close to city walls and within walking distance of everything including railway station. The house is minutes from trendy Bishy Road with cute cafés, delicatessen shops, supermarket and excellent fish & chips. We felt immediately at home here and would definitely like to come back, next time in a slightly warmer season. Thank you, Julie for a great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 7, 2015
Thank you Jane, really pleased you utilised the house to its maximum. Look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards, Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
393HazelH
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful holiday home in very handy location”
Reviewed December 21, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The house is beautifully done and very comfortable. We parked the car on the first evening and then didn't move it until the day we left. It's very handy for everything we wanted to do in York - we walked around. The local shopping was an added bonus.
Julie made us very welcome when we arrived. We had one of the meals which she offers on her website and it was delicious.
Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: How modern and chic it was
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 22, 2014
Hi Hazel
Thanks so much for your kind review - now you know where we are please do come and stay again - you were perfect guests!
Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen G
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Little Town House”
Reviewed December 9, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here the 1-4th December, on a short break with my partner, we were greated by Julie herself who showed us where everything was located and using the heating etc. The place was lovely and warm on arrival and we even had home made baking for us and other goodies. Its a beautiful and tastefully decorated property, we couldn't believe the quality of the bed linen, crockery and wine glassses. Will definately recommed it to freinds and can't wait for our next visit to York which we have already booked with Julie.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 12, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review Karen. You were perfect guests and I look forward to welcoming you back. Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing