We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“la comida esta muy buena”
Review of El Piano

El Piano
Ranked #54 of 935 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $48
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Award winning wholly gluten-free, wholly plant-based foods using no seeds nor nuts other than sesame and coconut and using no palm oil. We change the menu at least every six months to ensure we can use as much locally grown produce as possible. EL PIANO YORK occupies a medieval building and, as with most buildings on Grape Lane, was probably used as a brothel before being storage for the food industry. One of our buildings, No. 15, Is believed to be the oldest building on the street and has a unique pyramid pitch roof. As recently as the 1980s the area was general warehousing, and immediately opposite El Piano was the workshop of Dick Reid, master carver, who supplied his work to many monuments and palaces nationally and internationally. EL PIANO YORK bought into the head lease in 1997 from the Queen's cousin Oliver Worsley, and the use changed from retail to the cafe and restaurant that it is today.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

On a visit to york to celebrate a landmark half century with three friends (2 vegetareans and two meay eaters)we booked a table at el piano. The staff were very friendly the food was very tasy and we all enjoyed our choices. We would all return if visiting york although would prefer to be seated further from kitchen as out clothes were smelling of the cooking smells nd our eyes were stinging from the spices that were being used when cooking. Maybe a better extractor fan. I would also agree that staff uniforms need renewed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank cazthereyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdalena C, Owner at El Piano, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Que alegría tener su comentario ¡en español! By all means ask for a table away from the kitchen on any future visit. EL PIANO YORK has three rooms upstairs as well as the courtyard to chose from. You may have now seen our response to the earlier review about uniforms. Your comments about the kitchen in some ways invite a similar reply. EL PIANO serves a vulnerable dining public and part of our commitment to them is that they can see the food being prepared and our practices are fully visible. Our present extraction system is compliant with regulations...HOWEVER...we are planning a kitchen remodel during the next 12 months and improvements to all our plant and equipment, all made possible of course by our loyal customers spending their money with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

761 - 765 of 1,127 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

I went to your restaurant last night with some friends and had a really nice meal. The chai tea and the potato and banana fritters were amazing, I'd definitely recommend them to anyone going. The only dissapointment was the charlotte pudding which wasn't particularly pleasant. I was expecting a bowl of fruit layered with some kind of cream, but what I got was something like a sugar free tofu cheesecake with the texture of pate. I would strongly suggest you take this pudding off your menu or at least give a better description of what it is. Don't take this comment too negatively, I enjoyed every other aspect of the evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Baker B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdalena C, Owner at El Piano, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thanks so much for your review. As you will have seen, the new menu is in its trial period before going to print so your dessert remarks could not be more timely...The CHARLOTTE is a sugar free 100% fresh fruit pie dessert with layers of fresh fruit held together by a whizzed fresh fruit topping thickened with cornflour. A better description emphasising the fat-free, sugar-free and salt-free nature of the dessert may help avoid disappointment (definitely NO TOFU!) and possibly using red fruits for the final layer such as watermelon, strawberries or raspberries may lift the colour and presentation. It is great to have your input and we appreciate you taking the time to make it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Been today and the food was lovely as usual, the only thing that puts us off is the staff uniforms they all look like the need a good wash. We were the first in and all the uniforms were dirty and stained , quite off putting really. Didn't look like they were bothered about their appearance. Someone at the next table also commented about it. On a good note had a nice dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank rustybum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdalena C, Owner at El Piano, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

So glad you liked the food...and found it the usual good standard...Please be assured that the staff care a lot about their appearance. It may help to know that EL PIANO is not a food retailer like many restaurants where packets arrive on trucks, are opened, reheated/deep fried and arranged on plates. We are manufacturers. The kitchen is in constant production and ALL the food is made from raw ingredients on the premises. Add to this the fact that our staff multi-task, no-one just on pot wash, no-one just on potato bashing, but all of us participating across a range of tasks, it is not surprising that as the day goes on our clothing shows the signs of our trade...(and our day begin at 8am with laundered clothing!) Normally kitchens are closed to public view and diners do not see the people who are preparing their food. Nor do kitchen staff often exit the kitchen. At EL PIANO our kitchen is open plan, everything on view, and our cook staff are often on the floor. We view this as positive evidence of a skilled workforce providing unequalled fresh and flavourful food which we present with pride and with confidence that we know what has gone into it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

I had an enjoyable early lunch here today. The young woman who served me was very warm and friendly. The food combination I had was tasty and good value. I'll come back the next time I'm in York.

1  Thank misterprezzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdalena C, Owner at El Piano, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

How great that you found us and enjoyed us enough to earmark the wholly vegan and wholly gluten-free food for another visit. Thanks for taking time to write about us and we look forward to serving you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Great food, lovely choices, and so nice to go somewhere that my vegetarian husband is properly catered for rather than being an afterthought!
We ordered the three part main course and mathematical chips, all of which were brought promptly

It was all tasty and very filling, especially the falafel and mexislaw.

My only comment would be that we didn't get enough veggies with the cheese dip, although some more were brought when we asked.

2  Thank Christina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdalena C, Owner at El Piano, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

So glad you and your husband enjoyed the food at EL PIANO. Good to see that you ordered starters and mains PLUS a side order of mathematical chips (square roots...) The Mexislaw is great and so simple...lime juice, cabbage, chillies and fresh chopped coriander...try it at home!

With regard to the starters, they are 'little bites' at £2.95 so as to be both affordable and to whet the appetite...there should be enough crudité on the plate for the dip provided...we can now check that out in light of your comments.

Thanks for taking time to write about EL PIANO and we look forward to seeing you again before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Piano also viewed

 

Been to El Piano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing