We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent once again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Betty's Cafe Tea Rooms

Betty's Cafe Tea Rooms
Ranked #50 of 850 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, European, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
cheshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent once again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was our first visit with our daughter, she had eaten her lunch beforehand but we asked for a jam sandwich to keep her occupied while we ate our afternoon tea, the staff obliged and even cut off the crusts for her, we never got charged for it either..
Lovely food as always and very attentive, pleasant and polite staff..

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank karen964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,632
    965
    422
    153
    88
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great for a treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Visited here on a freezing cold snowy afternoon. There was luckily,no queue, and my husband and were greeted by pleasant staff and seated in the room downstairs which was lovely, warm and had a special ambiance. Upstairs seating looked like it may have been lighter and had window seats but our table for two was still perfect and the service was efficient and friendly.
Prices are expensive but good for a treat ...we had a large coffee each and my husband had a large scone (fat rascal) ...name of the scone ...really ...came to just over £10. But if you start going for the real deal then it becomes pricy but well worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“must do...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Luckily I managed to visit when there was only a very small queue. You cannot book a table and I did see the queue down the street mid-week on a rainy day in march. We got a lovely table my the window. Although it may be a little bit on the pretentious side and certainly a bit pricey, it's a York must do. The cake and tea was lovely. Its busy for a reason. Definitely just a once in a while treat but I did enjoy it and would recommend it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank lgardn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A must while in york”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

When we visit york, bettys is always a must do. Even on this very snowy, very cold march afternoon. Even better no que and a table for two as soon as we walked in. Very polite staff and quick service. Great atmosphere and delicious cakes!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank smithy1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very Traditional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

An exceptional place to experience English afternoon tea. The atmosphere was good, service was excellent and the price is reasonable as well. I WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND THIS PLACE FOR ANYONE TO EXPERIENCE TRADITIONAL ENGLISH TEA.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank weeezoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Betty's Cafe Tea Rooms also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Betty's Cafe Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing