We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous house”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jancie52
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous house”
Reviewed November 30, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We recently spent the weekend at 59 st denys road. From the start the personal welcome from the owner and bottle of prosecco and pastries set off a wonderful weekend
The house is perfect. Spotlessly clean. Artfully decorated so comfortable. We all felt so at home we could have lived there.
The house is a short 5-10 minutes walk down Foss gate which is a wonderful street full of local interesting businesses
All in all I couldn't recommend this house enough

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 1, 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay- it is a lovely time of year with the Xmas market. Thank you for your kind comments and we hope we will see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Convenience with style”
Reviewed October 29, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Really convenient location and comfortable accommodation, beautifully clean with every facility and with nice touches. Couldn't fault in any way. Thanks Jocelyn and Jerry. It would certainly be good to renew our acquaintance and check out the National Railway Museum and Minster for more edification.

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2016
Thank you very much. Very glad you enjoyed it. Yes, do come again: Evensong at the Minster with the resident choir is a treat not to missed. The National Railway Museum is likewise a must!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrChippy
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal location and quality accommodation - fantastic stay”
Reviewed October 16, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Stayed two nights as part of extended break. Could not ask for better. Excellent location 6 min walk to bottom of the Shambles - excellent top quality facilities and really friendly welcome. Parking as well!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and well equipped
Liked least: No tin opener!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 17, 2016
Thank you! Very glad to know you enjoyed the house and the location and Hope you'll visit us again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house, beautiful city, great weekend.”
Reviewed September 20, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Visited York for my friend's wedding and stayed at Jerry and Jocelyn's wonderful house. Fantastically warm reception and lovely house in a great location. Really enjoyed the comfy beds, great facilities and outside space. Would definitely visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 21, 2016
Thanks very much Chris. Very glad you enjoyed it all and hope you'll come again and see more of this lovely city.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy H
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wish we could have stayed longer”
Reviewed August 10, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Could not fault our experience at 59 St Denys, as we were arriving earlier than the 4pm check-in we were kindly on this occasion offered an early check-in which was very convenient. The house itself is very warm, clean & homely - everything we needed was provided and as previous guests have stated a bottle of Prosecco, milk & biscuits were left.. even a Sunday newspaper! The decking area was fantastic for the afternoon/evening sun. This house beats a hotel stay for sure! Thank you Jerry & Jocelyn.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fluxan
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Clean, well placed and well equipped”
Reviewed May 31, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Jerry was very helpful and flexible when we were running a bit late. The house was well equipped and the owners had supplied everything we could ever need.

The house is also in a brilliant location as you're in town within minutes and there are a lot of restaurants and shops within a very short distance on foot.

Very easy from start to finish and a lovely stay.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieW9...
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed May 4, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Perfect location in a quiet street literally a few minutes walk from the centre of York, Shambles, Minster etc. Car parking available round the corner and lots of restaurants, cafes and bars nearby. The accommodation was very comfortable for 4 adults, and the house is well furnished and equipped with nespresso coffee maker, dishwasher, power shower and very comfortable beds. We loved the additional touches including prosecco, cookies, tea and coffee etc. We ate out each evening trying the Polish, Sardinian and Thai restaurants - all good but Polish my personal favourite. Thank you very much Jerry and Jocelyn for your help, wonderful accommodation, and apologies for delay in writing this review. We will definitely be back and have already recommended to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The weather!!!! - rainy March so unable to use the lovely back patio
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing