We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great lication”
other travelers have booked this property
Lounge with satalite tv and sofa bed
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge with satalite tv and sofa bed
Front of house with parking rear view of the bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
44 reviews
Lounge with satalite tv and sofa bed
Front of house with parking
rear view of the bedroom
Main bed room with large comfortable double bed
Cosy single room, with memory foam mattress and solid oak bed.
front of the cottage
York Minster on 2 minutes away
York Minster
Rainbow view from exhibition square over Bootham Bar
View from city walls over looking back of the Minster, 5 Minutes walk from the cottage
River Foss
Longest and strangest street name in the shortest street
View of the roman walls from Lord Mayors Walk, 2 minutes from the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jeanne A
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great lication”
Reviewed June 9, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Quiet yet just a short walk into the city. The cottage is cute, compact, fresh flowers greeted us, quickly provisions appeared, provided by Dylan after he dashed over to the store for milk. The cupboards reveled tea and coffee along with other niceties that you don't expect. Make our stay in York very pleasant

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GailCanad...
Northamptonshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfectly located cosy cottage”
Reviewed February 5, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We wanted somewhere close to the City Centre and this couldn't have been better. Tucked away in a courtyard off Gillygate we were by the Minster in less than 5 minutes. The parking space was right outside the front door. Everything we needed was in the kitchen, tea, coffee, kitkats and all the basics like salt & pepper etc. So nice to arrive and make a cuppa as Dylan had left milk and juice in the fridge for us. We were visiting our daughter who is at university in York and the cottage enabled us to have her over for dinner with her boyfriend and sit around the dining table and chat rather than have to sit in a hotel room! We popped in and out of the cottage all weekend and everything was so close it was fab. Will definitely book again, thanks Dylan.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: parking
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKerr55
Grantham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb position”
Reviewed October 29, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This was a delightful cottage in an ideal location for York city centre. The cottage was clean, comfortable and had everything you could need. The owner was welcoming and helpful. Good to know he was available nearby if required. Would definitely stay there again if visiting York.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juniep
Washington, Tyne & Wear
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Couldn't fault it!”
Reviewed September 29, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Property exactly as described, Very clean and well equipped, and in an ideal spot for all the attractions of the City of York. Could maybe do with a TV for when the weather is bad, but I was only there for the weekend and I was out a lot.
The fact that there waqs a parking space right outside the door made it even better!

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pip S
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
“cosy,central,very welcoming”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Arriving on a Friday we had a very warm welcome from the owner. There were refreshments for us including orange juice, milk & biscuits and the Cottage was very clean and cosy. The cottage is very central being close to the local pubs, restaurants and walking distance to everything you need. I will be recommending to family & friends and i don't want to stay anywhere else but Millers Cottage when i visit York in the future. Dylan was very helpful from the moment we arrived to when we left, with helping us with what we were close to and where we could go. Great service and great value for money. I felt very much at home and i would love to stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxing feel when being at the cottage.
Liked least: Nothing in the Cottage itself did we dislike.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect city pad”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Stayed 2 nights at Miller's cottage with my son. Location very central, within walking distance of York's attractions, but situated in a quiet courtyard. I did book at short notice and Dylan was very prompt in replying which was very helpful.
We travelled by train, Dylan gave excellent directions to the cottage, if we'd brought our car the parking space is right by cottage's front door.
Welcome pack (including lovely cookies!), fruit bowl and flowers all nice touches - we've stayed in quite a few self catering places over the years and Miller's cottage is one of the most memorable (for all the right reasons!). No TV, but this wasn't an issue as wifi worked well and you don't go on holiday to watch TV!
Would have liked to stay longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Can't think of anything!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda T
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous find!”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have just got back from York and a fabulous stay in one of the most convenient places possible! The cottage is great, just what we needed. We comprised of myself, Husband and teenage Daughter. Our bedrooms were comfy and clean as was the rest of the cosy accommodation. We really couldn't have asked for more! There was even some games to play in the evening after an exhausting day in York. No TV but you really don't need one!
I have to say it was bliss only having a short walk to put your feet up after trekking around the city all day! Dylan was very friendly and always available to contact if needed which was nice to know. We would definitely book again if we travel back to York.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing