We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect city pad”
other travelers have booked this property
Lounge with satalite tv and sofa bed
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge with satalite tv and sofa bed
Front of house with parking rear view of the bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
38 reviews
Lounge with satalite tv and sofa bed
Front of house with parking
rear view of the bedroom
Main bed room with large comfortable double bed
Cosy single room, with memory foam mattress and solid oak bed.
front of the cottage
York Minster on 2 minutes away
York Minster
Rainbow view from exhibition square over Bootham Bar
View from city walls over looking back of the Minster, 5 Minutes walk from the cottage
River Foss
Longest and strangest street name in the shortest street
View of the roman walls from Lord Mayors Walk, 2 minutes from the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sharon H
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect city pad”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Stayed 2 nights at Miller's cottage with my son. Location very central, within walking distance of York's attractions, but situated in a quiet courtyard. I did book at short notice and Dylan was very prompt in replying which was very helpful.
We travelled by train, Dylan gave excellent directions to the cottage, if we'd brought our car the parking space is right by cottage's front door.
Welcome pack (including lovely cookies!), fruit bowl and flowers all nice touches - we've stayed in quite a few self catering places over the years and Miller's cottage is one of the most memorable (for all the right reasons!). No TV, but this wasn't an issue as wifi worked well and you don't go on holiday to watch TV!
Would have liked to stay longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Can't think of anything!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda T
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous find!”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have just got back from York and a fabulous stay in one of the most convenient places possible! The cottage is great, just what we needed. We comprised of myself, Husband and teenage Daughter. Our bedrooms were comfy and clean as was the rest of the cosy accommodation. We really couldn't have asked for more! There was even some games to play in the evening after an exhausting day in York. No TV but you really don't need one!
I have to say it was bliss only having a short walk to put your feet up after trekking around the city all day! Dylan was very friendly and always available to contact if needed which was nice to know. We would definitely book again if we travel back to York.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 5, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 3, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and communication with the owner.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2014
Lovely to receive your positive feedback, thank you so much, it was a pleasure to have you. Pleased everything was to your liking and hope to see you again sometime soon. Best wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Martin R
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location, welcoming owner, ideal accommodation”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Great location - central York near the Minster and Bootham Bar, short walk from the rail station. Lots of local shops, cafes, restaurants and pubs. Local Sainsbury's a couple of minutes walk away for groceries and lots of independent shops too.
Welcoming owner - we arrived in the late evening and were met by the host who showed us around the accommodation and left us a supply of tea, coffee, herbal tea, milk, fruit juice and bananas! Bed linen and lots of towels were supplied.
Ideal accommodation - bright, clean, newly decorated, everything that we required for our stay.

If I'm visiting York again, I would choose to stay here if it was available. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending it to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 28, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 28, 2014
Thank you so much, it was a pleasure to have you with us and glad everything was to your liking. Hope to see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gareti
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“execellent”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Me and my Daughter staying at the Millers Cottage Was very clean comfortable right on the centre, ideal location
Mr Dylan was very helpful and friendly I would definitely recommend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location
Liked least: everything was as i expected
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2014
Thank you so much, it was a wonderful to meet you and have you with us. Your bolognese chilli was best I've ever tasted! Thanks for being great guests. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;