We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A friendly, budget but comfort B&B, a short ride away from the city centre.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St. George's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #39 of 193 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A friendly, budget but comfort B&B, a short ride away from the city centre.”
Reviewed February 23, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a night here. The room was clean and there was plenty of space for four nevermind two! It was really quiet and although there were lots of other people staying there, you couldn't hear anyone. We were happy with just the shower but if you're a bath person room one isn't for you. The breakfast was great. Cereal and juice then tea/coffee and cooked food. Off street parking in a nice area. The resident giant cat was lovely too. All in all a great little spot opposite York racecourse with a friendly couple to welcome you.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jesswatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    53
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
146
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2011

The Hotel is ideally located for the race course (virtually next door) and the city centre (20 min walk). The full English breakfast was great and we had a large spacious room. Made all the better for being dog friendly.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edwardcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maidstone
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2010

We chose this B&B as it was advertised to have a quiet location and off-street parking. Yes, it's quiet! There is parking but it's fairly tight - if all rooms were occupied by drivers there wouldn't be space for everyone. St George's is family-run by pleasant Yorkshire people. Ample cooked breakfasts. It's about half an hour's walk to the centre of York, and there's a frequent bus service. Room comfortable and warm - almost too warm - decor a bit tired, bed comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oolite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Busy London-Dwellers in need of some relaxed downtime discovering the medieval town of York & its wide range of boutique shops, just got back from a fun filled weekend getaway.

And we had choosen St. George's B&B to enjoy our time over there, not only as cat "Kitson" (the house's Garfield) was mentioned in the endless fab review, ha, ha.

We had a great time at St. George's. The B&B is located in a residential area. The road leads straight to the city centre, which is reached within 10min walk is surrounded by the city wall, that used to protect the inhabitants of York from invaders in medieval time.
Its on bus line 3 to Askham Bar (bus connex to London with Megabus).

The place is spotless, nicely furnished, top service. You can choose to have breakfast in bed and have a choice between full english breakfast or continental with local jam (lots of crazy combinations, like Rhubarb Ginger), marmelade, croissant & yogurt. The atmosphere is great and you get easyly in contact with fellow travellers.

Can only recommend this place!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerstinCoulibaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Dorset
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Hotel is very friendly. Well equiped rooms with large flat screen TV. Good Breakfast. I could not eat until the evening after the Breakfasts. Hotels with parking is difficult in York. This is out of the main town so parking outside in the street is always available. Bus Stop five mins walk away. Not the best places to park in york so use the Bus. Its not far from the Marriott Hotel if you want to walk out for a late evening drink. The Pub opposite the Holiday inn next to the Marriott is good for Food ( Vintage Inn Chain) but it gets very busy. I think its called the Fox & Roman..The only downer at the St George is that Andrew the Owner is a Leeds United fan. But there is always a down side were you stay ( only joking Andrew if you read this) Up the Saints. Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saintyWimborneDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

We stayed here after the hotel was recommended to us by our daughter, who'd stayed the year before. Our room was on the top floor at the front of the building. Lovely extra touches like the soft toy on the single bed and quilted bed throw. Andrew and Joanne were very friendly, available if you needed informaton but unobtrusive. We were given a key to the front door and asked only that we made sure it was locked properly after returning late. Breakfast was cooked to order, plentiful and delicious. Again, home made preserves, a lovely touch. A pleasant walk into York itself but there is a bus stop round the corner if you don't fancy a stroll. All in all a comfortable relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillybean16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2010

Just back from our weekend stay at St'Georges it was fab!! The owners are very nice, very welcoming young couple! We were on the 1st floor, room was'nt huge but perfect for 2 people i'd say quite modern, bathroom clean and shower good size. Breakfast was very nice, the owners were always looking after you, making sure you had enough etc. The house was situated very close to the racecourse it took us about 10mins to walk. The only cons were that the bed was very small, quite hard, a alot of tossing and turning through the night. But im sure that could be easily solved. Great value for money!!! Top class hotel/B&B!!!! Cant wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank youngcouple1924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Bentham Lodge Guest House
0.4 mi away
Bishops Guest Accomodation
1.1 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#3 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#4 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#9 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dairy Guest House
Dairy Guest House
#59 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George's Bed and Breakfast

Property: St. George's Bed and Breakfast
Address: 6 St. Georges Place, York YO24 1DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St. George's Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Victorian house has 5 individually decorated ensuite bedrooms. We have free wifi and free parking and are situated in a quiet cul-de-sac across from York's racecourse. It's a 10 minute walk to the city walls, then a further 10 mins walk to the centre. Our emphasis is on friendliness and cleanliness. Choose from either our ground & 1st floor rooms which include a home cooked breakfast served in our dining room or relax & enjoy breakfast in bed. If you have any other questions please feel free to contact us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your St. George's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing