We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay, Friendly Hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St. George's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #40 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2010

We stayed here after the hotel was recommended to us by our daughter, who'd stayed the year before. Our room was on the top floor at the front of the building. Lovely extra touches like the soft toy on the single bed and quilted bed throw. Andrew and Joanne were very friendly, available if you needed informaton but unobtrusive. We were given a key to the front door and asked only that we made sure it was locked properly after returning late. Breakfast was cooked to order, plentiful and delicious. Again, home made preserves, a lovely touch. A pleasant walk into York itself but there is a bus stop round the corner if you don't fancy a stroll. All in all a comfortable relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillybean16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 201 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2010

Just back from our weekend stay at St'Georges it was fab!! The owners are very nice, very welcoming young couple! We were on the 1st floor, room was'nt huge but perfect for 2 people i'd say quite modern, bathroom clean and shower good size. Breakfast was very nice, the owners were always looking after you, making sure you had enough etc. The house was situated very close to the racecourse it took us about 10mins to walk. The only cons were that the bed was very small, quite hard, a alot of tossing and turning through the night. But im sure that could be easily solved. Great value for money!!! Top class hotel/B&B!!!! Cant wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank youngcouple1924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2010

Had a lovely weekend. The hotel had everything we wanted and the staff were there at the call of a button if needed. Would not hesitate to recommend a stay there to my friends and hope to visit again in the not too distant future. Many Thanks. Sally and Jon

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

The hosts were lovely, very welcoming, and keen to ensure a comfortable stay. Andrew in particular was in a league of his own...young, charming and witty with great local knowledge to help you explore York. We were on the top floor which meant having to climb a couple of flights of stairs but nothing too daunting! The room was clean, spacious, warm and tastefully decorated and the breakfasts were good. In terms of locality and local amenities, it is everything it says in the blurb on its websites. The parking on site is a little limited but the hotel is situated on a quiet street and there is plenty of off road parking right outside the hotel. If we return for a stay in York, hopefully there will be vacancies here.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottiejan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2010

After reading the good reviews I was looking forward to my stay after a hard day's work. It was a cold day and I too was put in Room 10 on the ground floor. It is a large room but also takes a lot of heating. The radiator was cold when I entered the room so I asked for the heating to be turned on. It came on an hour and a half later at 6 pm. I spent a cold evening and night.

My breakfast sausage was of the cheapest quality.

I had to park up the road not on site.

My impression was that profit comes before guest comfort.

Very disappointing and poor value.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WandererWonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2008

My wife and I stayed here at Easter and were very pleased. We were a bit concerned to find that our room was on the ground floor between the front door and the dining room, however, we were not disturbed by any noise. The room (No. 10) was spacious and comfortable with a double bed and a single bed. The ensuite was modern and seemed fairly new. The English breakfast set us up for the day. We walked into the city and it took us just about 10 minutes to get to the city walls. The staff were friendly and helpful with local information. We would recommend a stay in ST George’s.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillA_Belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2008

As we barrack for St George Rugby League team in Sydney Australia, the name immediately attracted our attention. On seeing the photos, information and price, we decided on this one.
From the moment we saw the outside, we had a good feel about the hotel. The gardens were neat and attended to. The foyer had loads of pamphlets and maps well displayed. One of the owners, Kristine greeted us warmly and when she saw our 2 big suitcases, changed our lst floor room to the ground floor. The room was exactly as on the website - spacious, clean,neat, tidy and sunny and with curtains, bedspread and tissue box, all in the same patterned material. She explained the house rules and showed us the dining room. Even the resident cat and small dog greeted us! After a full day's sightseeing, we collapsed into the very firm but comfortable beds, between crisp white sheets.
Breakfast was served by Kristine's son Andrew and daughter-in-law, Joanne, both of whom were very friendly and neatly attired in polo shirts and trousers, with the name of the hotel and their name embroided underneath. The full English breakfast was delicious and hot. That night, being Valentine's Day, they had placed a plate with red heart sprinkles, 2 heart shaped chocolates and 2 heart shaped short bread biscuits tied with silver ribbon. This was an added touch to a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pah-43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
Holmlea Guest House
Holmlea Guest House
#63 of 194 in York
168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#8 of 194 in York
1,448 reviews
0.5 mi away
Farthings Guest House
Farthings Guest House
#52 of 194 in York
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holgate Bridge Hotel
Holgate Bridge Hotel
#88 of 194 in York
259 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#6 of 194 in York
364 reviews
1.1 mi away
Friars Rest Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George's Bed and Breakfast

Address: 6 St. Georges Place, York YO24 1DR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $86 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. George's Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Victorian house has 5 individually decorated ensuite bedrooms. We have free wifi and free parking and are situated in a quiet cul-de-sac across from York's racecourse. It's a 10 minute walk to the city walls, then a further 10 mins walk to the centre. Our emphasis is on friendliness and cleanliness. Choose from either our ground & 1st floor rooms which include a home cooked breakfast served in our dining room or relax & enjoy breakfast in bed. If you have any other questions please feel free to contact us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your St. George's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing