We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a delightful, family run hotel with a charming and witty host.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St. George's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #42 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bury, Lancashire
2 reviews
“This is a delightful, family run hotel with a charming and witty host.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2010

The hosts were lovely, very welcoming, and keen to ensure a comfortable stay. Andrew in particular was in a league of his own...young, charming and witty with great local knowledge to help you explore York. We were on the top floor which meant having to climb a couple of flights of stairs but nothing too daunting! The room was clean, spacious, warm and tastefully decorated and the breakfasts were good. In terms of locality and local amenities, it is everything it says in the blurb on its websites. The parking on site is a little limited but the hotel is situated on a quiet street and there is plenty of off road parking right outside the hotel. If we return for a stay in York, hopefully there will be vacancies here.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottiejan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    51
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
141
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2010

After reading the good reviews I was looking forward to my stay after a hard day's work. It was a cold day and I too was put in Room 10 on the ground floor. It is a large room but also takes a lot of heating. The radiator was cold when I entered the room so I asked for the heating to be turned on. It came on an hour and a half later at 6 pm. I spent a cold evening and night.

My breakfast sausage was of the cheapest quality.

I had to park up the road not on site.

My impression was that profit comes before guest comfort.

Very disappointing and poor value.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WandererWonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, N. Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2008

My wife and I stayed here at Easter and were very pleased. We were a bit concerned to find that our room was on the ground floor between the front door and the dining room, however, we were not disturbed by any noise. The room (No. 10) was spacious and comfortable with a double bed and a single bed. The ensuite was modern and seemed fairly new. The English breakfast set us up for the day. We walked into the city and it took us just about 10 minutes to get to the city walls. The staff were friendly and helpful with local information. We would recommend a stay in ST George’s.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillA_Belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2008

As we barrack for St George Rugby League team in Sydney Australia, the name immediately attracted our attention. On seeing the photos, information and price, we decided on this one.
From the moment we saw the outside, we had a good feel about the hotel. The gardens were neat and attended to. The foyer had loads of pamphlets and maps well displayed. One of the owners, Kristine greeted us warmly and when she saw our 2 big suitcases, changed our lst floor room to the ground floor. The room was exactly as on the website - spacious, clean,neat, tidy and sunny and with curtains, bedspread and tissue box, all in the same patterned material. She explained the house rules and showed us the dining room. Even the resident cat and small dog greeted us! After a full day's sightseeing, we collapsed into the very firm but comfortable beds, between crisp white sheets.
Breakfast was served by Kristine's son Andrew and daughter-in-law, Joanne, both of whom were very friendly and neatly attired in polo shirts and trousers, with the name of the hotel and their name embroided underneath. The full English breakfast was delicious and hot. That night, being Valentine's Day, they had placed a plate with red heart sprinkles, 2 heart shaped chocolates and 2 heart shaped short bread biscuits tied with silver ribbon. This was an added touch to a most enjoyable stay.

  • Liked — What was advertised on the website, was exactly that.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pah-43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clitheroe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2007

This gorgeous and well run b&b was the perfect setting for us to celebrate our engagement. A lovely hotel set on a tree lined street, with private parking and a stone's throw from the racecourse. Barely a 10 minute stroll from the city walls, we were rewarded with a lovely room, complete with a bath, comfortable bed, ample furniture and, not least of all, inspiring views. The staff/ managers were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. For no extra charge, our breakfast was served in our room... ahhhh breakfast in bed! Simply the best B&B I have stayed in, in my 2 years in the UK. Highly recommended!!!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aussiejoey77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.8 mi away
Bentham Lodge Guest House
0.4 mi away
Bishops Guest Accomodation
1.1 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#4 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#3 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#9 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dairy Guest House
Dairy Guest House
#58 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George's Bed and Breakfast

Property: St. George's Bed and Breakfast
Address: 6 St. Georges Place, York YO24 1DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St. George's Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Victorian house has 5 individually decorated ensuite bedrooms. We have free wifi and free parking and are situated in a quiet cul-de-sac across from York's racecourse. It's a 10 minute walk to the city walls, then a further 10 mins walk to the centre. Our emphasis is on friendliness and cleanliness. Choose from either our ground & 1st floor rooms which include a home cooked breakfast served in our dining room or relax & enjoy breakfast in bed. If you have any other questions please feel free to contact us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your St. George's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing