We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fossgate has some many charms”

The Fossgate Social
Ranked #128 of 859 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: An independent specialist coffee shop and bar, open during the day and into the night. Kitchen open from 9am Monday to Saturday and 10am on Sundays and bank holidays. Vegetarian, vegan and GF options. Kitchen closes at 4pm
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fossgate has some many charms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Lovely staff, great coffee and a rustic feel to the bar with exposed brick. Can't wait to visit in the evening or for food. Lovely little garden with extra seating too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank p r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    60
    17
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quickly becoming my new favourite bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

I've now had a few visits to the Fossgate Social and each time has been a real treat. I really love the rustic feel and chilled out vibe of the place which I think in York is sometimes difficult to find amongst some of the larger more soulless bars. There always seems to be a good mix of ages in the crowd which I also think is great.

Unfortunately I can't comment on the food as I have only been here for drinks from 6pm onwards but I've read the menu and will be sure to come back and try the food.

During my visit on Saturday night I wasn't overly impressed with the doorman - after last orders had been called he made a big fuss to constantly shout us all out of the bar. I understand the staff will be wanting to finish for the night but I don't think yelling at the customers and sarcastically pointing out where the door is, is the way to go about it - it's just not that sort of place where it needs enforcing. Apart from that I have no other negative comments and will certainly be back soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtyGeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Vibe and High Quality Offerings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Initially stumbled across the social with friends from the uni. I was initially surprised at the lack of cask beer and the use of 2/3rd pint measures but the atmosphere was chilled out and immensely comfortable.
I've since come back for the odd coffee or drinks with friends, and the social provides the perfect setting for this. Their focus seems to be on the quality of the produce they provide, and the attention to detail that they pay towards their coffee and craft beer makes the place stand out in a city of pubs!
I would think twice if I wanted to bring a big group or was seeking a bustling inner-city bar atmosphere, and the service does lag a little at busy times, but it's the ideal venue for lunchtime and early evening refreshments. It's certainly cemented its place in York's growing bar scene.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaRabman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“All the essence of York is here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

As York city centre residents we think that in a city of great bars this one stands out. It is very far from a chain and has everything going for it - the right drinks-loads of real ales and craft beers, very good wine served in good glasses at the right temperature with panache from the lovely owners/staff. Small, eclectic but great tasting menu and the best coffee not to mention home made brownies and salted caramel shortcake bars. The pared down decor,fab rear courtyard and growing live music and arts on the lovely Fossgate adds up to a great little place you really should find! The clientele are the most interesting mixed bunch of folk and everyone is friendly. Oh, and there are fairy lights - am a sucker for them (sorry).

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vivacious1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Chill out space with "hit the spot" lunch at reasonable price.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Fantastic chill out lunch in the little courtyard outside. Sharing platter (£9.50) hit the spot with jamon serrano, olives, crusty bread, manchego cheese & quince jelly, plus we added a caramelised onion topped pork pie (not usually pork pie fans - but this was exquisite!). thirst quenched by non-alcoholic ginger beer (it was lunchtime and there was still too much serious shopping to do before we hit alcohol..). Very friendly staff and nice to hear that the tips are being pooled to support a staff member off to do a stint of charity work with VSO in Africa. Definitely one to go back to.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chevindogwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fossgate Social also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Fossgate Social? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing