We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing fish&chips and desserts”
Review of The Sea Catcher

The Sea Catcher
Ranked #107 of 881 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $21
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Description: Located next to the heart of York, The Sea Catcher offers fantastic quality fish and chips to take out or eat in. Our mission is simply to make you love our fish and chips the way we do. We achieve our goal by supplying quality product while selecting the best sources- marine certified fish and locally grown potatoes.
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing fish&chips and desserts”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Lovely place, delicious food made with love and care, haddock was nice with proper chips (less fat than anywhere else I've tried before), food looks fresh, tastes nice and restaurant itself smells way better than usual fast food or fish&chips takeaways. Nice and cozy seating area upstairs. Proper coffee and dessert menu. Would recommend to go with family or friends. Amazing customer service. Best wishes to all the lovely staff there! will definitely come back again :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ZivileBagdonaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    24
    10
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little fish n chip paradise....”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

My wife and I went for an afternoon fish and chip meal here and was certainly not disappointed.
From the outside it looks a little unassuming but as soon as we walked in we were met with a very warm and friendly welcome. We ordered our meal and sat at a table as the cod and chips were cooked to order.
The cod and chips were excellent and we have no complaints whatsoever. As a bonus they sell ice cream there too!
All the best for the future, you both deserve it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank apcjmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good honest English food”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We did not know what to expect when we turned up, but the people were very polite and the food was excellent. I would recommend this place to everybody. Will return very soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wim775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Chippy Heaven”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Proper chippy serving proper food. We had Haddock, Chips, Mushy Peas and a side of Onion Rings. All were cooked to order and served with enthusiasm by the young waitress. Portions were spot on and the quality top-notch. Finished off with an equally delicious ice-cream.
Lovely seating area upstairs, clean tidy and unpretentious. Well worth the little detour out of the city centre.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Temptus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Me and my husband went on a groupon offer 6.90 for fish and chips for two with bread and butter. The fish was gorgeous and very tasty. The service was good and the owners were very helpful couldnt do enough for you. Very clean and lovely seating upstairs. I would give it ten out of ten. Will definitely go again. Well recommended.

Mr & mrs wilson

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 123celebration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sea Catcher also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Sea Catcher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing