We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just what a b and b should be”
Review of Alcuin Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alcuin Lodge
Ranked #3 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“just what a b and b should be”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

having read other reviews before staying here we were expecting good things,although being somewhat cynical I was not totally convinced it was going to be as good as reported,and to be fair it wasn't,it was far better,spotlessly clean, great breakfast, good location and at the risk of embarrassing Darren he was a great host,reviews are supposed to help people select suitable accommodation, and be balanced, with any negatives included, and I have considered this,and tried to be objective,however I can say that in my opinion,for value for money,service and a warm welcome Alcuin Lodge will take some beating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 897andrew575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcuinLodgeYork, Owner at Alcuin Lodge, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
What can I say? Feedback like yours and knowing that you enjoyed your stay so much reminds me of exactly why I opened Alcuin Lodge. Thank you for your lovely comments and for taking the time to share them. I hope you'll be back to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
222
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with my family for my daughter's graduation and it was also my birthday .. Darren made the whole experience very special. Everywhere is spotlessly clean, breakfast is freshly cooked to order. Darren certainly goes that extra mile to make your stay enjoyable! Have already booked to go again for a Christmas shopping trip!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littleduggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcuinLodgeYork, Owner at Alcuin Lodge, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Glad you all had such a great weekend of celebrations in York. I'm happy to have been able to provide you with a family base for the weekend. Thanks for your positive comments about Alcuin Lodge and I look forward to seeing you all again in December for some Christmas shopping!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2013

An excellent overnight stay and good coffee too. The room was comfortable and airy even on a very hot night. The breakfast was good and generous. Darren is charmingly helpful beyond necessity and witty. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gathorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcuinLodgeYork, Owner at Alcuin Lodge, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
I really appreciate your great feedback. I'm pleased Alcuin Lodge and I provided you with everything you needed for your short stay in York. Thank you for your recommendation and I hope we'll be seeing you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
142 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed here for just one night but will certainly return next time I'm in York. Situated in a quiet and green street, yet only a short walk, including through a beautiful park, to the historic city centre, it was really nice to have such a peaceful location in this busy city. The room was very clean and comfortable, and more than large enough. The owner was very friendly, and more than ready to give advice on the city, and furthermore cooked an excellant breakfast with many choices. I'll be back!

Room Tip: Room 1 was nice, overlooking a green area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidCl19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcuinLodgeYork, Owner at Alcuin Lodge, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
David, thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of Alcuin Lodge. I'm delighted that you found the twin room at the back of the house so peaceful and quiet - we're very lucky with our location being in a residential area but with a 5 minute walk to all city centre attractions. I appreciate your positive comments about the hospitality you received and hope we'll be able to look after you again soon on your next visit to York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a top-class B&B in a lovely location near the Museum Gardens. Pristine decor, very clean bathrooms, perfectly cooked breakfast. Darren gave us a couple of excellent recommendations for lunch/dinner so do ask him for advice.
The only reason it doesn't get Excellent is because the sleep quality could be improved with black-out blinds/curtains. And the babies next door gave us an wake-up call at 6.45am on both mornings - clearly can't be helped but I'd avoid the twin room at the back if you'd prefer a lie in. (NB: Breakfast is only served between 8-9am which is a pretty narrow window for early birds/late risers).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherman49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcuinLodgeYork, Owner at Alcuin Lodge, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your generous description of Alcuin Lodge as "top class" - I'm just pleased that you felt so well looked after and enjoyed your stay. I was sorry to hear that you didn't sleep so well with the long light nights and some sound coming through windows open due to the heat. I'm glad you made the most of your stay in York and hope we'll be seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We had a two nights stay in this extra friendly and clean B&B. We can't thank Darren enough for providing such welcoming and comfortable environment during our stay in York. We are ashamed to admit that we were there until the very last minute that we left in a rush without writing our notes in the guestbook.

York has done a very good job in it's tourism industry. It has all sorts of activities to keep one going, from morning to evening. We finished our free city guided tour near 9pm and were lucky to get a table in a popular indian restaurant, which served yummy naan and curry dishes.

Tip: Darren gives very precise and good advice on places to eat and things to do. His knowledge on local activities is spot on. Do seek his advice, it's well worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goonk K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcuinLodgeYork, Owner at Alcuin Lodge, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. York has so much to offer and it's sometimes hard to know what to prioritise during a short visit so I'm always happy to talk through some of the hidden gems of the city. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your visit to York so much and even happier to know that you felt so welcome at Alcuin Lodge. I hope you'll be able to come back to see us again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russikon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The slippers only rule in the house suit me to a T! Why would anyone walk on carpeting with shoes they had on outdoors. Our room was accordingly spotless. Bathroom especially nice but the shower a bit temperamental. The bed linens were excellent but the bed a bit firm for my taste. I do think one of the new bed toppers would be a good investment. Our breakfast wishes were carried out with flair and the food excellent. Darren was also a great source for tips on where to go and what to see. We would definitely book with him if we make it back to York. Good value for the price.

Room Tip: Large room with a bay window, one flight of stairs up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcuinLodgeYork, Owner at Alcuin Lodge, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Margaret, thank you for your lovely comments. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay at Alcuin Lodge and that you felt well so well looked after. I appreciate that the firmness / softness of beds is a matter of taste. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback and I look forward to you visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
610 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,205 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 192 in York
842 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#4 of 192 in York
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcuin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcuin Lodge

Property: Alcuin Lodge
Address: 15 Sycamore Place | Bootham, York YO30 7DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alcuin Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the home of an Edwardian family, Alcuin Lodge is now a comfortable guest house in the centre of York, with light and airy bedrooms, recently refurbished modern bathrooms and a welcoming breakfast room. Alcuin Lodge is the perfect place to stay during your visit to York, a City boasting some of the most amazing architecture and history in the UK. We are a short stroll away from the city walls, the Minster, Museum Gardens and city centre where you will find Betty's tea rooms, the Yorvik Viking centre, York Dungeon, a vast array of shops and many more places to explore. There is something for everyone to enjoy, all within walking distance. We are in a great location for the popular business areas and University, making Alcuin Lodge a great setting for business travellers and those visiting friends and family. Alcuin Lodge is a ten minute walk from the station. There is free on street parking available opposite the property, on a first-come, first-served basis. Our rooms have en-suite bathrooms and contain televisions with Freeview and DVD player. Towels and a hospitality tray are provided. We also have free WiFi available throughout. Our small double room has its own private bathroom which is a few steps away from your door. There is a sink with shaver point fitted in this bedroom for your convenience. We can arrange for flowers or chocolates to be in your room on arrival, or for champagne to be delivered. Breakfast is freshly cooked every morning, offering a traditional English breakfast (with bacon, sausage, tomato, beans, mushrooms, egg...) And toast. There is also a selection of cereal, juices, jams and tea and coffee. We can cater for vegetarian and gluten free diets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Alcuin Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcuin Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing